Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Gaming smartphones are very rare in the mobile market. Since conventional flagship devices can quite cope with similar tasks as gaming devices. Therefore, in this article, I would like to tell my opinion about the new generation of Xiaomi Black Shark 3 and does it make sense in it?

An amazing surprise for me was the price tag for the new Black Shark 3. It does not exceed its older one and is also much smaller than its main competitors, for example, Asus ROG Phone 3. Now, the price of a gaming smartphone from Xiaomi is $559.99 for the standard version.

5%
Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: 6.67 inches Super AMOLED with 90Hz, Snapdragon 865, 4720mAh (30W)

Price: $559.99
Price: $559.99 Less

Naturally, the main features of the gaming device are the processor. I was very glad to see that the new generation of Black Shark 3 received the Snapdragon 865, like the flagship Xiaomi Mi 10. I will definitely do performance tests on these two devices.

Another main feature I can attribute is a large 6.67 inch AMOLED screen, a 64-megapixel camera and a 4720 mAh battery with support for fast charging at 30 watts of power.

I am not a strong gamer, but I’ll try to find out if you need a gaming smartphone if you can buy a flagship device for the same price.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Specifications

Xiaomi Black Shark 3:Specs
Display:6.67 inches Super AMOLED with 1080 x 2400 pixels, 90Hz
CPU:Snapdragon 865 Octa Core 2.84GHz
GPU:Adreno 650
RAM:8/12GB
Internal memory:128/256GB
Memory extension:Not supported
Cameras:64MP + 13MP + 5MP main camera and 20MP front camera
Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, dual-band,3G, 4G, Bluetooth 5.0, NFC and GPS
Battery:4720mAh (30W)
OS:Android 10
Connections:Type-C
Weight:222 grams
Dimensions:168.7 x 77.3 x 10.4 mm
Price:$559

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Unboxing

The new generation of the Black Shark 3 gaming smartphone comes in a sturdy black box. Where on the front part there is an extruded box according to the design form of the smartphone itself and a logo with the letter “S”.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Inside the box, the equipment is the most standard, as additional accessories need to be purchased separately. The first in a black envelope lay user manual, a silicone transparent case with holes for wireless charging and a camera, and a SIM needle.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Naturally, I found the smartphone itself in a protective transport film, a charging adapter for 30 watts of power and a Type-C cable.

In general, I was pleased with the configuration and was even glad to see an additional silicone case. Before we talk about performance, let’s go over the main aspects of appearance.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Design

Almost all gaming smartphones stand out from the crowd and have a specific appearance. In its line of Black Shark, the third generation smartphone received similar features, like Black Shark, Black Shark 2 and Black Shark 2 Pro. This is especially highlighted by the rear panel of the device.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

The front panel is made of protected glass, but the side frame and rear panel are made of aluminum alloy. The build quality is at a fairly high level and I did not find any flaws during testing.

The back panel received a triangular island with rounded edges, in which there are three sensors of the main camera. Below, there are dual LEDs that light up in different colors and the logo of the letter “S” flaunts between them. Of course, the logo also glows in various colors. In the settings, you can customize a specific color to your taste.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

A volume rocker and a slot for dual nano-SIM cards were installed on the left side. The right side has a power button and a game mode switch Shark Space.

Also, the gaming smartphone was not deprived of a 3.5 mm audio jack for wired headphones. It is located on the upper edge of the device. The lower edge was equipped only with a Type-C port and a microphone hole.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Above and below the screen, Black Shark 3 received stereo speakers. This location was made for a reason. The reason is simple – that during the game you do not cover the speaker’s holes with your palm. Although I can’t call the sound very loud, even the Xiaomi Mi 10 has better sound quality.

Another fact that may confuse you when buying is size. The dimensions of the Black Shark 3 are quite voluminous and amounted to 168.7 x 77.3 x 10.4 mm. The weight of the smartphone is about 222 grams and with a protective case all 250 grams.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Therefore, using a smartphone for the intended purpose of a regular user, for example, making phone calls, checking messages, social networks and much more, will not be practical for Black Shark 3. And as a gaming goal, the smartphone is quite convenient, even in a protective silicone case.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Screen

The new generation of the gaming smartphone received a similar AMOLED screen as the previous generation of the Black Shark line. Only now the screen size has grown to 6.67 inches, but the resolution has remained the same – Full HD or 1080 x 2400 pixels.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

The frames around the screen are rather large and this decision was made for a reason. During playing various games, the user needs precise control and without unnecessary false touches.

The aspect ratio was 20: 9 and the pixel density per inch was 395 PPI. The maximum brightness with automatic adjustment rises to 1100 nits, like the flagship smartphone Mi 10.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Another advantage of the screen is the refresh rate of 90 Hz. As a gaming smartphone – a high refresh rate will not be superfluous during game fights.

Additionally, I can note that the screen received technologies such as DCI-P3, HDR10 + and touch-sensing 270 Hz.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

After testing the screen, I was impressed. The color rendering quality, brightness, viewing angles and contrast are at a high level, both for its class.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Performance and Software

The processor of the new generation of gaming smartphone uses the most productive and new chipset – Snapdragon 865. It is built on 7-nanometer technology and has eight cores in its execution. This is one Kryo 585 core with a clock frequency of 2.84 GHz, three Kryo 585 cores at 2.42 GHz and the last four Kryo 585 cores at 1.80 GHz.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

The processor is completely similar to the flagship devices. But I noticed one interesting point. During trolling, Xiaomi Black Shark 3 showed an almost perfect schedule during maximum loads with a deviation of 8%. After many smartphones being tested, this is the most ideal graph I’ve seen. Even if you compare Xiaomi Mi 10 with a similar test – the graph was much worse and with a deviation of up to 15%.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

The results of the benchmarks turned out to be strange for me, especially if you look at the AnTuTu test. The readings of Black Shark 3 were about 570 thousand points, and the flagship Mi 10 – a little more than about 580 thousand points.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

I have a memory version of 8 GB of RAM and 128 GB of internal memory. Here the manufacturer cheated a little. For example, with the 8 GB version, LPDDR4X RAM is used, and with the 12 GB version, the newer LPDDR5 is used.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

As for gaming abilities, I can confidently say that Xiaomi Black Shark 3 does its job 100%.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Even at ultra-high settings, the smartphone did not overheat and I did not find any subsidence.

Now a little talk about the software. For the modular series in 2020, Android 10 is already a familiar version.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

The user interface is stable and very fast. I did not find any delays. In addition, applications open quickly and even the most demanding games and programs are launched.

I have a Chinese version of a gaming smartphone, so I installed Google services manually. I did not find any problems with the installation, and the Google account synchronization was authorized without any comments. Thus, I received a complete list of any applications from the Play Store from Google.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

I would like to pay a little attention to the Shark Space mode. It is intended for gaming purposes. In the main menu, you can select any previously installed game, as well as the load level of the smartphone. There are three modes in total — optimal, medium and ultra-high load conditions. During the last mode, you will not be able to access some features, such as LED backlight, vibration and much more.

As for the quality of communication, the Black Shark 3 gaming smartphone has not lagged behind modern flagship devices. Here, the device boasts 5G connectivity, NFC wireless payment and sixth-generation dual-band Wifi with ax networks.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Camera

For gamers, the camera is not a strong criterion when choosing a device. Therefore, the manufacturer decided to install last year’s proven main module on a 64-megapixel camera, instead of a 108-megapixel sensor. Moreover, the aperture is f/1.8.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

The second module received a resolution of 13 megapixels with f/2.3 aperture for ultra-wide shots. The latest 5-megapixel sensor is designed for bokeh shots.

In terms of the front camera, a 20-megapixel module with an f/2.2 aperture is used.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Of course, the quality of the photos is not the same as that of the flagship devices, even if you compare Mi 10. But I can’t call it bad, the quality is similar to that of Redmi Note 8 Pro. Naturally, you can see examples of sample photos of Xiaomi Black Shark 3 and draw conclusions yourself.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Battery

Each new generation of smartphones increases battery capacity and the Black Shark 3 model is not spared. Now the gaming smartphone received a 4720 mAh battery, which showed a good result in terms of battery life.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

With an average load, the battery life can reach up to 2 days of use on a single charge. If you play heavy games on the maximum schedule, the working time will be reduced to 6-7 hours.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Another plus is the presence of fast charging thanks to an adapter with a power of 30W. You can also separately purchase an adapter with a power of 65 watts and magnetic wireless charging of 18 watts. The full charge time will be about 1.5 hours through the Type-C port and the standard adapter from the kit.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Conclusion and Reviews

There are not many gaming smartphones in the mobile market when comparing flagship devices. Therefore, the competition is not so fierce for the new Xiaomi Black Shark 3.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Like last year, the new generation of the gaming smartphone from Xiaomi has competitors such as the Razer Phone 2, Nubia Red Magic 3, and Asus ROG Phone II. As a filling, the Xiaomi model has almost no major changes, but the price is very attractive and much less than its competitors.

After several days of testing Xiaomi Black Shark 3, I was left with a positive impression. For example, the advantages I can attribute are an attractive and bright design, a high-quality screen, high-performance, and even battery life at the proper level.

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: Price and where to buy cheaper?

Now you have to pay a rather big amount for Xiaomi Black Shark 3, which will be $559 for the standard version with 8/128 GB of memory. If you want to buy additional accessories, then you will have to pay extra. Below I will leave the most reliable store with low prices.

Therefore, if you are an active gamer and you need a stylish gaming smartphone with good performance and a good cooling system, then Black Shark 3 will be a worthy choice for you.

5%
Xiaomi Black Shark 3 Review: Awesome Gaming Smartphone 2020 

Xiaomi Black Shark 3: 6.67 inches Super AMOLED with 90Hz, Snapdragon 865, 4720mAh (30W)

Price: $559.99
Price: $559.99 Less

Recent Articles

Mpow M30 Review: Comfortable Sports TWS Earbuds for $35

Mpow produces wireless earbuds in the budget segment in the mobile market. Today I want to share with you my opinion on the new...

Huawei P40 Pro Review: New Flagship That Surprised!

Just a few hours ago, the Chinese manufacturer from Huawei introduced the new generation of the flagship Huawei P40 Pro and let's test it...

360 S6 Pro Review: Robot Vacuum Cleaner with 2200 Pa and Remote Control

After several meetings with the company 360, which produces smart robot vacuum cleaners, I am completely satisfied with its work. Today I will share...

Oukitel Z32 Review: Android Smartwatch Up To 4 Days Battery Life

Oukitel decided to expand its product range and introduced us to a new smartwatch running Android system. The new watch is called Oukitel Z32. Earlier,...

Magicsee N6 Plus Review: TV box with Amlogic S922X and 4/128GB

Many users are often interested in new and modern TV boxes. Therefore, today I will talk about a new productive TV box called Magicsee...

Related Stories

error: Content is protected !!