Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

The revolutionary company Vivo has introduced an updated model of the flagship device, called the Vivo X70 Pro Plus.

Today we will talk about the top version, but there is also a model without the Plus ending. It received slightly simplified technical features. But unfortunately, I cannot compare both devices side by side, since I only have the top version of the X70 Pro Plus in my stock.

In this article, you can find out not only the design features of the updated model, but also I will share with you the results of various tests.

For example, I tested the model with a lot of benchmark tests, played games, took photos and videos, ran a battery test, and much more. Therefore, believe me, I have something to tell you about in this full review.

As for the cost, it was not the most budgetary. But do not forget that this is the flagship device and now the Vivo X70 Pro Plus smartphone model will cost you $940 with a good 20% discount.

$942.81
$1,208.73
Aliexpress.com

The main features of the new smartphone from Vivo include the presence of the flagship Snapdragon 888+ processor with 5G support. Also, on board the device has 8 or 12 GB of RAM and 128, 256 or 512 GB of internal memory. But you will not find a slot for a memory card here.

In addition, the smartphone received a large 6.78 inch LTPO AMOLED with high brightness, 120 Hz refresh rate and HDR10 + function. The device also positions itself as a camera phone. Therefore, the main camera received four modules with a main sensor of 50 megapixels and there is also a 48 megapixel sensor for ultra wide shots. But the selfie camera received a resolution of 32 megapixels.

Thus, let me begin my full and detailed review to find out the strengths and weaknesses of the new flagship device model. Therefore, I want to start my test with unpacking and appearance.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus: Specifications

Vivo X70 Pro Plus:Specs
Display:6.78 inches LTPO AMOLED with 1440 x 3200 pixels, 120Hz
CPU:Snapdragon 888+ 5G Octa Core 3.0 GHz
GPU: Adreno 660
RAM:8\12GB
Internal memory:128\256\512GB
Memory extension:No
Cameras:50MP + 8MP + 12MP + 48MP main camera and 32MP front camera
Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6, dual-band,3G, 4G, 5G, Bluetooth 5.2, NFC and GPS
Battery:4500mAh (66W)
OS:Android 11 (Funtouch OS 12)
Connections:Type-C
Weight:209 grams
Dimensions:164.5 x 75.2 x 8.9 mm
Price:$942

Unboxing and packaging

I’ve always noticed that the manufacturer Vivo ships its smartphones in unique and unrepeatable packaging. Therefore, the device model X70 Pro Plus is no exception. This is a rather bulky square package, which was made in black.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

On the front, you can only notice the model name of the device with the cooperation of Zeiss. But on the opposite side, there is a sticker with the designation of production in India and other information about the manufacturer.

Everything inside the package was packed in an unusual way. The smartphone itself was located with the back to us. This proves once again that the main feature of the smartphone is the main camera module.

In addition to the smartphone, I found a charging cable, a 66 W power supply, wired headphones, instructions, a protective case and a needle for a SIM tray. Okay, now let’s talk about the appearance and its main design features.

Design, build quality and materials

If you look at the list of available color options for the new model of the flagship smartphone Vivo X70 Pro Plus, you might be a little surprised. Since the device is available in black, blue and even orange. I have a black version and it looks very expressive, especially the back of the device.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

At the same time, the materials used for the manufacture of the smartphone were very premium. For example, the smartphone was made of frosted protective glass on the back of the device. Therefore, you will not see fingerprints or other annoyances here. In addition, the surface near the main camera module was made of ceramic. But the aluminum rim of the camera itself had a darkened coating.

In fact, some users didn’t really like such a large camera module, and some liked it. As for me, a smartphone in this design looks very good, at least unusual. The device is also distinguished by the execution of an aluminum frame with aluminum control buttons.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

The build quality itself did not arouse strong disgust in me, since I did not reveal any extraneous sounds and creaks. Also, all buttons were pressed with good responsiveness. I was also surprised by the full protection against water under the IP68 standard. Therefore, the smartphone from Vivo X70 Pro Plus is not afraid of submersion under water to a depth of 1.5 meters for half an hour.

As for the ergonomics, the smartphone lay well in the hand and caused only positive emotions. For example, the tactile feel was high and I also liked the slight rounding on both the back and the front of the device. In terms of dimensions, everything is also not so bad, the device received dimensions such as 164.5 x 75.2 x 8.9 mm, and the weight was about 209 grams.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

The back of the smartphone received a slightly protruding main camera module. But this problem can be solved by using even a standard protective case. It’s good that out of the box, the standard case was of very cool quality and did not cause any strong disgust while wearing it. Therefore, I will only recommend that you use this case.

On the right side of the Vivo X70 Pro Plus device, the typical control buttons were installed. This is the power button and the volume rocker is located just above. There was nothing on the opposite side of the smartphone. But on the bottom there is a Type-C port for charging, a main speaker, a microphone and a slot for dual nano SIM cards. At the same time, an infrared sensor with an additional microphone is located on the upper end.

In addition, I can highlight that the smartphone has an additional second speaker and it is used as a spoken speaker. As for the sound quality, it didn’t surprise me as much as a flagship smartphone. For example, the device played not badly in terms of its sound, but the maximum volume was not very powerful.

Can you ask me for the location of the fingerprint scanner? So, on the Vivo X70 Pro Plus smartphone, it was located under the touch panel screen, that is, on the front of the device. This is a proven optical sensor that recognizes the finger quite accurately and most importantly quickly. I did not find any particular problems with the use of the fingerprint scanner. Okay, now let’s talk about the screen itself and its features.

Screen and image quality

The top smartphone Vivo X70 Pro Plus also received a top screen with a size of 6.78 inches and a resolution of 1440 x 3200 pixels. For me, this is a very high resolution, as for modern standards. Since even the pixel density value was higher than that of any competitor, it is about 517 PPI.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

Responsible for the matrix is ​​LTPO AMOLED technology, which is by far the best among other AMOLED screens. For example, the screen renders an extensive list of different colors with good detail and viewing angles. In addition, the LTPO AMOLED screen will consume less energy than any other standard AMOLED screen.

Among other features, I can highlight the presence of such chips as 120 Hz refresh rate and HDR10 +. In the screen settings, you can select a frequency from 60 to 120 Hz. Of course, using the device with the maximum refresh rate will give you a lot of positive emotions while scrolling or watching various news feeds on social networks.

In terms of brightness level, it peaked at around 1500 nits. At the same time, the typical brightness was about 500 nits. This means you won’t have any problems with readability, both indoors and outdoors in bright sunny weather.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

In addition, the screen settings have a fairly wide list of other functions. These are setting and adjusting color shades, setting the reading mode, activating the dark interface, and much more. There is also an Always-On Display function and also DC Dimming against PWM. But the last function is activated through the device developer menu.

Performance, benchmarks, games and OS

Naturally, the flagship device Vivo X70 Pro Plus will be powered by the flagship processor. That is, it uses a chipset from Qualcomm, namely the Snapdragon 888+. It is currently the most top-end processor that can be found on a mobile device. It is based on eight cores with a maximum clock speed of 3.0 GHz. And this chipset is built on 5 nanometer technology.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

The Adreno 660 graphics processor also showed itself on the positive side. During my testing, I managed to run a large number of different games and I did not find any special problems.

In the Genshin Impact game, the device played stable and smoothly. But naturally, it is impossible to achieve the result of 120 Hz refresh rate in most games, since the maximum frequency was only about 60 Hz. At the same time, I did not reveal a strong overheating even after several hours of testing games and various benchmark tests.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

As for the amount of memory, the device offers a choice of modifications such as 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB of internal memory. There are also 12 and 256 GB and 12 and 512 GB versions. Yes, the choice is interesting and extensive, but there is no memory card slot onboard the device. I also had no particular complaints about the speed of reading and writing, since the smartphone used UFS 3.1 memory.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

At the same time, wirelessly you will also have everything at the highest level. This is the presence of a dual-band Wi-Fi module of the 6th generation, Bluetooth 5.2 version, a high-speed and accurate GPS module, and there is also NFC for contactless payments. Each of these functions worked well and quickly.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

Since I have a global version of the Vivo X70 Pro Plus device, the user interface has received the Funtouch OS 12 shell running Android 11. In this case, the Chinese version will have the OriginOS 1.0 user interface. Overall, the user interface itself ran smoothly and responsively. During my testing, I did not find much lag issues or other annoyances. In addition, the device received an already installed package of Google applications and services.

Camera and sample photos

The main feature of the Vivo X70 Pro Plus smartphone is its camera. There are four sensors on the back of the device. The main module received a resolution of 50 megapixels with an aperture of f/1.6. The second and third sensors have 8 and 12 megapixels for periscope and telephoto, respectively. That is, these sensors will be designed for 5x and 2x optical zoom. The latest sensor has 48MP resolution and was built for ultra wide mode.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

I want to note that each of the modules on the back of the smartphone has OIS optical stabilization. Therefore, even during video recording in all modes, the stabilization will be stable and without jerking. In addition, the device received optics from the well-known Zeiss brand, which can often be found on top models from Nokia.

As for the quality of the shooting, I really liked it. Both mainstream and ultra shirik took photos and videos of good and high quality. That is, below you can see an album with examples of photos, both at night and in good lighting. But the photos on the 8-megapixel sensor with 5x optical zoom were good only during daylight hours.

On the front of the device is a 32-megapixel front camera. It took pretty good photos, even in low light. In addition, the maximum video resolution for a selfie camera was 4K and 30 frames per second.

Battery and run time

The Vivo X70 Pro Plus uses a 4500mAh battery on board. It’s not the largest battery you’ll find on most devices, even in the mid-budget class.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

Therefore, the battery life will be about 1 business day. If we talk about numbers, then everything will depend on the selected resolution and screen refresh rate. At maximum brightness, maximum resolution and 120Hz refresh rate, the screen on time was approximately 7.5 hours.

If you use Full HD resolution and only 60 Hz, but also with maximum brightness, then the screen will run for 8.5 hours.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

Another feature is the fast charging time. Since the Vivo X70 Pro Plus device supports 66W fast charging. Therefore, a full charge from 0 to 100% will take you about 55 minutes. It also has 50W wireless fast charging, which is a very nice feature.

Conclusion, reviews, pros and cons

During my testing of the flagship smartphone model Vivo X70 Pro Plus, I had only positive emotions and impressions.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

I believe that most modern flagship devices will not be able to evoke as much positive emotions as a device from Vivo. One of the advantages is the fact that the X70 Pro Plus smartphone surprises itself with its tactile sensations. That is, the materials used are indeed very well chosen, as well as their assembly.

Also, the device stands out for the presence of a bright and saturated screen with LTPO AMOLED technology, QHD + resolution, peak brightness at 1500 nits and 120 Hz refresh rate. In addition, the performance of the smartphone was very good and corresponded to its level.

Vivo X70 Pro Plus Review: Perfect Flagship Smartphone 2021

But the most important feature of a smartphone from Vivo is its camera and how well it captures photos and videos. Yes, maybe I will have questions about some sensors. But I think that all questions are of an optimized nature of problems and in the future it will be possible to fix these problems.

As for the shortcomings, I did not identify them during my testing. Yes, they may be available, but they were very insignificant compared to the functions offered by the smartphone.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

Now everyone can buy a Vivo X70 Pro Plus smartphone at a price of $942.81 with a 20% discount.

Considering the features that a smartphone from Vivo offers, I can definitely recommend this device for purchase.

$942.81
$1,208.73
Aliexpress.com

Competitors and alternative

$610.16
$884.29
Aliexpress.com
$899.00
$1,284.28
Aliexpress.com
$1,067.60
$1,570.00
Aliexpress.com
error: Content is protected !!