Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

A couple of days ago I wrote a review about the Umidigi F2 smartphone. But the company does not stand still and introduced a new ultra-budget smartphone called Umidigi A3X.

If you have not read my test about the mid-range smartphone Umidigi F2 and want to know my opinion, then I will leave a link here.

As for the price of a new state employee? Umidigi company really surprises with its prices and this time the ultra-budget smartphone will cost you up to $80.

50%
Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Umidigi A3X: 5.7 inches IPS display, Helio A22, 3/16GB Memory, 3300 mAh

Price: $79.99
Price: $79.99 Less

For this price, you will get a modern device that you will not be ashamed to walk with. For example, the front panel has a notch like the iPhone X, and the back has a dual-camera module. The Mediatek Helio A22 processor is responsible for the performance, in addition, there is 3 GB of RAM and 16GB of internal memory. The smartphone is powered by a 3300 mAh battery.

As for its class, the prices are very good, but let’s unpack the smartphone and test it in practice before making premature conclusions.

Umidigi A3X: Specifications

Umidigi A3X:Specs
Display:5.7 inches IPS with 1512 x 720 pixels
CPU:Mediatek Helio A22 Octa Core 2.0GHz
GPU:PowerVR GE6300
RAM:3GB
Internal memory:16GB
Memory extension:up to 256GB
Cameras:16MP + 5MP main camera and 13MP front camera
Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band,3G, 4G, Bluetooth 5.0, and GPS
Battery:3300mAh (5W)
OS:Android 10
Connections:MicroUSB
Weight:184 grams
Dimensions:147.2 x 70.2 x 8.7 mm
Price:$79

Umidigi A3X: Unboxing

The smartphone comes in a black box, where on the front side is written only the name of the company. The reverse side of the box has a sticker with the name of the model and technical specifications.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The design of the box is completely similar to other models in the line of smartphones. As I understand it, the manufacturer does not bother with the appearance of the box and puts a lot of emphasis on the filling itself.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Inside the box, I found the smartphone itself in a protective black silicone case. Umidigi has always pleased me that it produces its protective cases from very high-quality materials.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Of course, instructions for use, a needle for a SIM card slot, a power adapter for 5W of power and only a Micro USB cable were located just below the smartphone.

Given that this is an ultra-budget device, it is rather difficult to expect a Type-C port as a charger, so it’s hard to call it a minus.

Umidigi A3X: Design

In appearance, there are pros and cons. For example, case materials are made of glass and aluminum alloy. Thus, the front and rear panels use glass, and the side edge is made of aluminum.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

But the build quality is not the highest, for example, the power button and volume rocker play a little loose. Even the press itself is a little light and there is no good responsiveness.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Similarly to the build quality, the glass does not have an oleophobic coating, so fingerprints remain easy, and are washed with difficulty. The camera of the main module sticks out a little on the rear panel, but the kit comes with a good protective case in this case.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

On the front side is a 5.7-inch IPS screen with a resolution of HD+ or 1512 x 720 pixels. There is a large notch at the top of the screen, like last year’s iPhone X. It looks a bit old-fashioned, but it’s a matter of taste. The front camera, the notification LED indicator, and various sensors, such as proximity and light, are located in the notch.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The frames around the screen are quite small, except for the lower chin. Even if you look at the advertising photo on the smartphone itself, the difference is obvious on the face. Why the manufacturer made such a large lower frame, I do not know, and it does not look beautiful.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The side frames and the top frame are quite small and look good. Of course, if you pick up a dark wallpaper, then the lower frame will merge and your eyes will not pay much attention to it.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The screen brightness is high, so using the device in sunny weather will not be a problem. The touch panel has 5 touches and the screen sensitivity is not as bad as for a budget smartphone. The color reproduction and viewing angles are at the proper level, so I have no comments on the quality of the screen, given its low price.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The left side of the smartphone is equipped with a slot for dual nano-SIM cards and one memory card. This is not a hybrid slot and you can use dual SIM cards and a memory card at the same time.

The bottom end of the Umidigi A3X was equipped with a speaker, a MicroUSB port for charging, a microphone and a 3.5 mm audio jack. The quality of the speaker is low. The sound is flat and not surround, but there is enough volume, so hearing a call even in a noisy place will not be a problem. I was also pleased to see the 3.5 mm jack for headphones, and I think for many users it will definitely be a plus.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

To protect the information of your data on your smartphone, use the fingerprint scanner on the back. It is made in an oval shape. It works well, but sometimes the accuracy of the response is not at a high level. In addition, the smartphone has a face recognition function through the front camera. In the daytime, it works without complaints, and in the dark, it does not always recognize, so it is better to use a fingerprint scanner.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Due to its small size, the Umidigi A3X smartphone fits perfectly in your hand. Using one hand will not cause problems, even for a female. I assume that the device will be ideal for teens or children, given its low price and size.

Umidigi A3X: Performance and Software

Responsible for performance is a quad-core processor called the Mediatek Helio A22. It is based on four ARM Cortex-A53 cores with a maximum clock frequency of 2.0 GHz and has 12-nanometer technology. As for its ultra-budget price – this is a good processor.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The processor is supplemented with a PowerVR GE6300 graphic chip with a clock frequency of 660 MHz. Even demanding games can be played, but naturally at the minimum graphics settings. Overheating was a little, but not significant, so I recommend playing intermittently and no longer than half an hour.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The new budget smartphone Umidigi A3X was equipped with 3GB of RAM and 16GB of internal memory. Yes, there is not much internal memory, but it can be expanded thanks to an additional slot for microSD memory cards up to 256GB.

The benchmark results are not the highest, but given my low price, I can’t say that the smartphone is weak. For example, in the AnTuTu test, the device scored about 78 thousand points.

Another interesting point for the ultra-budget smartphone Umidigi A3X is the operating system. It runs on Android 10. This is the latest version of the OS, which is good news.

The user interface is clean and I did not find any extraneous programs, but only Google applications. For example, Play Store, YouTube, and more. Due to this fact, the user will receive about 9 GB of free space from 16 GB of available. Where about 6GB of space is occupied by the operating system itself.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Of course, the new Android 10 has many useful options, for example, a dark theme, settings for various widgets and gestures. Even considering its not high performance, the user interface works smartly and smoothly. But the opening time of applications is a little longer than that of middle-class smartphones.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Since the smartphone has a global version of the operating system, there are many different languages, so there should not be a problem. In addition, the smartphone has all 4G networks available and as the practice has shown, calls in my country were uninterrupted and the connection was excellent. 

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The work of GPS even with the Internet turned off showed me positive results, the accuracy of about 1 meter and 16 active satellites. Wifi has two bands, the speed is acceptable, also on board, there is Bluetooth with version 5.0.

Umidigi A3X: Camera

The ultra-budget smartphone was equipped with two main cameras – it is a 16-megapixel module with an f/2.0 aperture. The second 5-megapixel module for bokeh photos.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Immediately, I note that the second module works disgustingly, the quality of photos is terrible and I do not recommend using bokeh mode.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

The front camera uses a 13-megapixel module with an f/2.0 aperture.

The quality of photos in sunny weather on the main and selfie cameras is more than good, with good detail and color reproduction. But if there is little light, photos will greatly lose quality and sepia will appear.

Umidigi A3X: Battery

Given that the smartphone received good optimization running Android 10 and low power consumption, the battery life is quite adequate.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

During testing, the smartphone can quietly work for about 1 day and at the end of the day, you will have about 20% of the charge. I also conducted a test, at maximum brightness and watching videos on YouTube, the smartphone worked for a little more than 6 hours. A good indicator considering its battery capacity of 3300 mAh.

The charging time through the power adapter of the smartphone will charge about 2.5 hours.

Umidigi A3X: Conclusion and Reviews

I can not say anything bad for the Umidigi A3X since the price of a smartphone is very low and it is very difficult to find such a combination of price and technical features.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

I liked the rather compact size, the device lies well in the hand and has good materials of use. The screen quality is average, but my eyes are not tired after a day of testing the A3X.

The performance, software, and battery life – are also the strengths of the ultra-budget devices.

But the main camera has good quality photos in the daytime, but the additional sensor works negatively.

Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Of course, the smartphone has other negative aspects, but given its low price, I can not draw much attention to them.

Umidigi A3X: Price and Where to buy cheaper?

Now you can buy a Umidigi A3X smartphone at a very low price for only $79.99 with a 50% discount. If you are a new user, the online store offers you an additional coupon with a discount of $18.

This smartphone model is well suited for teenagers who need an inexpensive smartphone, but with good technical specs.

50%
Umidigi A3X Review: Decent Ultra-Budget Smartphone 2020

Umidigi A3X: 5.7 inches IPS display, Helio A22, 3/16GB Memory, 3300 mAh

Price: $79.99
Price: $79.99 Less

Umidigi A3X: Video Reviews

Recent Articles

Huawei P40 Pro Review: New Flagship That Surprised!

Just a few hours ago, the Chinese manufacturer from Huawei introduced the new generation of the flagship Huawei P40 Pro and let's test it...

360 S6 Pro Review: Robot Vacuum Cleaner with 2200 Pa and Remote Control

After several meetings with the company 360, which produces smart robot vacuum cleaners, I am completely satisfied with its work. Today I will share...

Oukitel Z32 Review: Android Smartwatch Up To 4 Days Battery Life

Oukitel decided to expand its product range and introduced us to a new smartwatch running Android system. The new watch is called Oukitel Z32. Earlier,...

Magicsee N6 Plus Review: TV box with Amlogic S922X and 4/128GB

Many users are often interested in new and modern TV boxes. Therefore, today I will talk about a new productive TV box called Magicsee...

Doogee Dopods Review: Earbuds with aptX and QC3020 for $20

For a long time I have not tested ultra-budget wireless earbuds, but today I will correct. Many of my regular readers are familiar with...

Related Stories

error: Content is protected !!