Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

Recently, I have been testing gaming devices such as a gaming laptop from the Chuwi brand and even a large gaming large curved monitor from BlitzWolf. Today we will talk about a gaming smartphone model called Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro.

I note right away that this is one of the fastest smartphones that I have been able to test, and in this review I will tell you why. From this article, you can learn not only about the build quality and the main design features, but also talk about performance, games, camera and battery life.

If for the cost, then the price tag for the new model of the gaming smartphone Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro was quite high, namely about $650. At the same time, let me remind you that the latest generation of gaming smartphone from Black Shark 4 will cost you only $470, but this is for the basic version. But if you take a device with the same memory as the Nubia model, then the price tag will already be $620.

$648.90
$927.00
Aliexpress.com

From the technical specifications, the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro smartphone received a large 6.8-inch AMOLED screen with a 165 Hz refresh quality. Also on board the device is the latest flagship Snapdragon 888+ processor from the Qualcomm brand.

I can also have the amount of built-in memory, I have a version of the device with 16 and 256 GB of memory. Therefore, there should not be any special problems with a lack of memory, but there was no slot for a memory card for a Redmagic smartphone. In addition, I can highlight the 64 megapixel main camera module. The device also received a 5050mAh built-in battery with 66W fast charging.

Of course, the gaming smartphone from Nubia has received many other qualities. So let me start my in-depth test with the look and feel.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro: Specifications

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro:Specs
Display:6.8 inches AMOELD with 1080 x 2400 pixels, 165 Hz
CPU:Snapdragon 888+ Octa Core 3.0GHz
GPU:Adreno 660
RAM:12/16 GB
Inner memory:128/256 GB
Expanding memory:No
Cameras:64 MP + 8 MP + 2 MP main camera and 8 MP front camera
Communication:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6e, dual band, 3G, 4G, 5G Bluetooth 5.2, NFC and GPS
Battery:5050mAh (66W)
OS:Android 11 (Redmagic 4.5)
Connections:Type-C
Weight:215 gram
Dimensions:169.9 x 77.2 x 9.5 mm
Price:$648

Unboxing and packaging

The gaming smartphone is delivered in black packaging, where on the front, there is only the brand name and nothing else. But on the back of the package, I found a sticker with the model name and memory version.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

In fact, there are three versions of the gaming smartphone from Nubia. These are 12 and 128 GB or 16 and 256 GB of memory in cyborg colors, there is also a more interesting version for 16 and 256 GB of memory, only with a ghost color. That is, the back of the case was made of transparent glass. I just have the latest version on the test and you can see the appearance from the photographs I took in real life.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

Okay, during unpacking, I found the following components, such as the smartphone itself with a protective transport film. In addition, in a separate box there was a transparent protective case with a cutout in the central part, instructions and a needle for the SIM slot. Naturally, the package also included a Type-C to Type-C charging cable in red and a 66W power adapter.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

In general, the equipment was almost typical, as on any smartphone model. But I liked that the manufacturer has equipped its smartphone with a protective case. Okay, now let’s take the device in hand and talk about its design features more closely.

Design, build quality and materials

As I said, my version of the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro gaming smartphone was made of transparent glass on the back of the device. Here you can see a drawing of microcircuits, processors and other parts. I especially liked the RGB backlit cooler for cooling the device. Therefore, the back panel of the gaming smartphone looks very stylish.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

In addition, on the same surface there are three sensors of the main camera with LED flash. Here you can also notice a lot of inscriptions, such as the name of the device model, and even there is a feature in the 165 Hz screen frequency.

As for the dimensions, the smartphone turned out to be not the most compact, and its dimensions were 169.9 x 77.2 x 9.5 mm, and the weight was about 216 grams. But do not forget that this is a 6.8-inch smartphone, so it will not be very comfortable to operate with one hand. On the other hand, you buy this device for games and it is much more comfortable to operate on a large screen than on a small one, isn’t it?

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

If we talk about the build quality, then I did not reveal any special complaints during my testing. The body of the smartphone from Nubia was well assembled and I did not identify any extraneous sounds or creaks. But protection from water was not provided on the device.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

Okay, from other features, I can single out active cooling with a cooler. This allows the smartphone to deal with overheating much better during games or other heavy processes. For example, the holes through which hot air will come out are located on the left side of the device. There is also a volume rocker and a switch from normal to game mode next to the holes.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

There are also holes for the cooling system on the right side of the smartphone case with the power button. In addition, on the same edge you can see a hole for a microphone and two triggers from the top and bottom of the device. These triggers can be controlled in games and I will talk about them a little later.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

I also wanted to talk a little about the cooling system. In fact, you will be able to adjust the speed of the coolers through the user interface of the device. That is, if you plan to play demanding games, you yourself activate the maximum power of the coolers at 2000 rpm and the device will cool very efficiently. But if you do not need high performance, the cooling system, namely the operation of coolers, can be turned off.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

If you look at the bottom of the smartphone, there is a main speaker, microphone, Type-C connection and a slot for dual nano SIM cards. As I said earlier, there was no memory card slot on board the device. It is also worth noting that in addition to the main speaker on the bottom edge, there is an additional speaker on the top.

At the same time, the stereo sound quality was very good, as for its class of devices. That is, the sound was very loud with a good supply of bass and dynamics. This means that you will not only get a smooth gaming experience, but also good emotions from the sound.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

But on the upper edge of the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro device, there is a 3.5 mm headphone jack with a microphone hole. As you can count, there are three microphones on the smartphone.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

You can ask me for the fingerprint scanner, is it here or not? My answer is yes, and it was built into the smartphone screen. On this model of the device, I really liked the response speed of the fingerprint scanner, as well as its accuracy. Okay, I figured out the appearance, now I propose to talk about the quality of the screen and its features.

Screen and image quality

I have already repeated that the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro gaming smartphone has a 6.8-inch screen size with Full HD resolution or 1080 x 2400 pixels. But the aspect ratio of the screen was 20: 9 and the pixel density per inch for this screen size and resolution was 387 PPI.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

I always like the use of an AMOLED screen. Especially when it comes to its color reproduction and contrast. That is, the black color on the device was very deep. At the same time, the viewing angles were also wide. I also have nothing bad to say about detailing.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

Among other features, the screen of the gaming smartphone Redmagic 6S Pro stands out for the presence of a high refresh rate of 165 Hz. But in the screen settings, you can set the refresh rate of the screen to choose from 60, 90 or 120 Hz. Also, the touch sensitivity was 450 Hz. This means that it was a pleasure to operate the sensor.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

In addition, in the screen settings, I found a useful function – this is the reduction of screen noise. In fact, it’s better to activate it right away so that your eyes don’t get tired of the AMOLED matrix. Naturally, other features include reading mode, night mode, dark theme, setting the Always-On Display function and others.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

The maximum brightness of the screen in the smartphone from Nubia was within 700 nits. During my testing, the maximum brightness was sufficient when using the screen outdoors in sunny weather.

In addition, I want to note that the frames around the screen were minimal and symmetrical. Yes, the top and bottom bezels may not have been the smallest, but the front camera fits exactly on the top bezel. That is, here you will not find round cutouts for a selfie camera. I think this is very good, as the view during the game session will be much better.

Performance, benchmarks, games and OS

The new model of the gaming smartphone Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro was equipped with the newest processor from the Qualcomm brand, namely the Snapdragon 888 Plus. It was based on eight cores, with the maximum Kryo 680 core clocked at 3.0 GHz, three medium Kryo 680s already clocked at 2.42 GHz and four energy-saving Kryo 680s at 1.8 GHz.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

You will remember that the Snapdragon 888 processor did not cope with cooling and had minor problems. I was very interested in the question of the updated version of the chipset, how it will cope with overheating. But before we talk about temperature conditions, let’s go through the main benchmark tests.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

For example, in the AnTuTu test, the Redmagic 6S Pro device scored about 884 thousand points. This is the most productive processor that I have ever been able to test. But from this test, you can also notice that the temperature of the smartphone has increased from 35 to 41 degrees and the battery is also discharged by 6%. This is quite a lot for a modern device. Since usually smartphones in the AnTuTu test heats up to 37-38 degrees. Of course, you can see other benchmark tests in the album below.

The graphics accelerator Adreno 660 is responsible for the gaming performance. Let’s now check the smartphone, how smoothly it launches games and how hot the device is. The first game I was able to play was PUBG Mobile. In the settings, I set the graphics to smooth mode, but I chose the frame rate per second at 90 Hz. In the game, the device coped with any task and as you can see the number of frames per second ranged from 88 to 92 fps.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

The next game was Genshin Impact, but in it I was able to run the game at a maximum frame rate of 60 frames per second. But despite this, the smoothness and detail was excellent. At the same time, the number of frames per second was from 48 to 62 fps, depending on the actions and battles. After one hour of playing, the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro got a pretty good warmth. For example, on the front side, the temperature was about 49 degrees, but on the back side, the maximum temperature was in the range of 52-53 degrees. That is, the smartphone warmed up quite well and even active cooling could not cope with the tasks.

As I said, I have a version with 16 GB of RAM and 256 GB of internal memory UFS 3.1. If you look at the AndroBench result, you will notice that the read speed was almost 2000 MBps, and the write speed was almost 700 MBps. The result is very good for its class of device. But you cannot use a memory card on a model from Nubia, since it is not provided here.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

Of the wireless connections, I can single out the presence of dual-band Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.2, a high-speed GPS module and even NFC for contactless payments. At the same time, the Type-C connection received the latest generation 3.0 version. During my testing, all modules worked fine and the signal transmission rate was very high. It is also worth noting that on board the smartphone there is a 5G network for the Internet and phone communications.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

In terms of the operating system, everything is standard here, as on most gaming smartphones. That is, the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro was equipped with the latest Android 11 with the Redmagic 4.5 user interface. Since this is a gaming device, there are a lot of features here.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

For example, as I said, you can use triggers during shooters for ease of shooting. Also in the user interface there is a configurable mode of active cooling, that is, the frequency of the coolers. In general, there are a lot of functions and features, and each has its own purpose. During my testing, all tasks and processes ran smoothly and without any delays.

Camera and sample photos

Since the new model of the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro smartphone is a gaming one, I think it does not make much sense to expect high performance in cameras. Despite this, the main camera module received a resolution of 64 megapixels with an aperture of f/1.8. On this camera module, the photos turned out to be very good. The detailing was good, as well as the color rendering, but at night, the quality dropped slightly, but the brightness was enough and there was no overexposure.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

The second sensor of the main camera has already received an 8-megapixel resolution, and it was created for ultra-wide shots. You can see examples of photos in the album below. But using the ultra wide mode will not be the right choice. Since the detail was not outstanding, and the photos were not of the highest quality.

The last third camera module has 2MP resolution, and it gets the job done for close-up shots. I did not reveal any particular complaints about its work, the sensor worked well.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

An 8-megapixel selfie sensor is used on the front of the smartphone. The quality of the photos is also not very impressive with its detail and brightness, but in good lighting you can get good pictures.

If we talk about video shooting, then the main sensor of the camera is capable of shooting video with a maximum resolution of 8K and 30 frames per second. There are also other modes – 4K resolution at 30 or 60 frames per second and 1080p at 30, 60, 120 and 240 frames per second. But the selfie camera shoots only at one resolution, this is 1080p and 30 frames per second, and besides that, there was no stabilization.

Battery and run time

The battery life will also depend on the mode used. For example, everything will depend on the selected screen refresh rate, load, how long you will be playing games and much more.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

Inside the case of the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro gaming smartphone, a battery with a capacity of 5050 mAh was used. At the same time, the Chinese version received a battery capacity of 4500 mAh. During my testing, the device lasted a full day. But of course, you can discharge the device faster if you play games at 165 Hz refresh rate. In this case, the device will be discharged within 3 hours.

One thing is good that the smartphone supports fast charging at 66W of power and a full charge from 0 to 100% will take you about 1 hour and 5 minutes.

Conclusion, reviews, pros and cons

After fully testing the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro gaming smartphone, I was under very positive emotions. That is, the smartphone had good performance, but it was not without its drawbacks.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

On the merits, I can attribute this to the use of a completely new Snapdragon 888+ processor and 16 GB of RAM and 256 GB of internal memory. Also, this smartphone model is the fastest than any other smartphone running on the Android operating system.

I also liked the performance of the screen, especially how it rendered colors and contrast levels. In addition, the 165Hz refresh rate will be useful not only in games, but also when using the user interface. On the other hand, constant use of 165 Hz often will drain the built-in battery very much.

Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro Review: World's Fastest Gaming Smartphone 2021

But on the downside, I can attribute this is not a particularly impressive camera, as for a flagship device. I especially did not like the work of the ultra wide and frontal module. Also, during games or other heavy processes, the device got quite hot, namely up to 53 degrees Celsius.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

Despite its shortcomings, I really liked the new gaming smartphone from Nubia. This is not only a stylish and bright smartphone, but also it is the fastest at the moment.

Therefore, the price of the Nubia Redmagic 6S Pro smartphone will not be the smallest. For example, you will have to pay $648 for the basic version.

$648.90
$927.00
Aliexpress.com

Alternative and competitor

$470.47
$573.75
Aliexpress.com
$673.42
$841.77
Aliexpress.com
error: Content is protected !!