Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

Huawei has introduced a new generation of compact ultrabook and this is the third generation in line. Today, the review will focus on a new laptop called Honor MagicBook 15 2020.

Nowadays, most laptops that have good performance and specs have a hefty price tag as well. But as for the third generation MagicBook line, let’s find out.

At the moment, you can get the Honor MagicBook 15 2020 for a pretty good price – about $830. Yes, the price tag is very attractive, but let’s find out what the manufacturer Huawei has set for the hardware.

$830.99
$1,222.04
Aliexpress.com

The first thing I want to draw your attention to is the large 15.6-inch IPS screen. Also, the device was equipped with not the worst performance and in the case of the new MagicBook 15, AMD Ryzen 5 4500U is used. The same goes for memory, as the laptop came with 16GB of RAM and 512GB of SSD storage.

Well, the filling is quite interesting, but I think that the manufacturer saved on some other features. So, let me start my in-depth review with all the tests I am used to and find out how the new laptop behaves in practice.

Honor MagicBook 15: Specifications

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020):Specs
Display:15.6 inches IPS Screen with 1920 x 1080 pixels
CPU:AMD Ryzen 5 4500U
GPU:Radeon Vega 8 Graphics
RAM:16GB
Internal memory:512GB SSD
Memory extension:up to 2TB
Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band and Bluetooth 5.0
Battery:42Wh with 65W adapter
OS:Windows 10
Connections:Type-C, 2x USB 3.0 and 3.5mm audio Jack, mini HDMI
Weight:1.53g
Dimensions:357 x 230 x 16.9 mm
Price:$830

Design, build quality and materials

Like most modern laptops, the new Honor MagicBook 15 is renowned for its fairly compact size and weight. For example, the dimensions of the device were only 357 x 230 x 16.9 mm, and the laptop weighs about 1.5 kg.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

Considering that the MagicBook 15 uses a standard 15.6-inch screen, the dimensions seem rather modest. And all thanks to the very small bezels around the screen, which are approximately 5.3 mm. But the so-called chin is already about 20 mm thick and you can see the logo of the MagicBook line on it.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

Due to the small frames, the laptop received a built-in front camera in the keyboard. The camera for conversations is located between the F6 and F7 keys. This is a pretty interesting solution and looks nice, but it also has a drawback. For example, the view during the conversation will be from below and all your extra chins will be clearly visible to the interlocutors.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

Now about the build quality and materials used. The Honor MagicBook 15 2020 uses a fairly durable aluminum alloy. At first glance, it is quite durable and not satisfactory. But the thickness on the outside of the lid is not enough, so it flexes slightly when compressed. The rest of the case not only looks durable but is also quite solid at the touch of a finger.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

With any laptop, I check how the laptop lid opens with one hand. More expensive notebooks do the trick easily, but the MagicBook 15 failed. That is, the lid will need to be opened only with two hands, holding the lower part of the case.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

Whatever one may say, but the weight of the laptop affected this obstacle. If the device weighed a little more, then there would be a chance of a positive result. But due to its low weight and size, you can easily transport your laptop without any difficulties.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

As for external interfaces, the laptop uses a Type-C port for power, a charge level indicator, USB 3.0, and an HDMI port on the left side. On the right side, there is an additional USB 3.0 port and a 3.5 mm headphone jack. Yes, there are not many external connections, but they are enough for a modern and most importantly compact laptop.

On the bottom of the case, you can see quite high rubberized wide legs that will prevent slipping on the desktop. Also here you can see very massive air ducts through which you can see the cooling cooler. In addition, there are two speakers at the bottom, but they sound pretty good.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

The last thing I want to talk about in the appearance section is, of course, the keyboard. It uses a rather nice keyboard with a certain roughness. Pressing the keys has the minimum stroke and the most important thing when typing the sound from the keys is not heard at all.

Of the minuses, I can note – this is the lack of backlighting, so it will be problematic to work without light at night. I also did not like the two keys – the down and up arrow. They are very small and narrow, but the rest of the keys are large and have accurate typing.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

I can’t get past the round power button in the upper right corner. A bonus is the built-in fingerprint sensor. The sensor works quite quickly and smartly, like on more expensive laptop models.

As for the touchpad, it works quickly and accurately. Compared to other ultrabooks, the Honor MagicBook 15’s touchpad responds more accurately and is much more pleasant to work with.

Display and picture quality

As I mentioned, the Honor MagicBook 15 2020  uses a standard 15.6-inch Full HD screen or 1080 x 1920 pixels. The pixel density per inch for this screen size is only 141 PPI. Of course, this is not the highest figure, but as for a laptop, the pixel density value is typical.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

When testing the laptop, I liked the viewing angles, they are pretty good for an inexpensive laptop. I also checked the color rendering and 100% sRGB is ideal.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

I can attribute to the disadvantages – this is not the highest brightness. The brightness level was only 225 cd/m2. Since this laptop model is designed for frequent transportation and outdoor use, the brightness level will not be a comfortable indicator for reading or watching movies.

Performance and benchmark results

The new generation Honor MagicBook 15 2020 uses a modern processor from AMD – the Ryzen 5 4500U. It is a quad-core chipset with a maximum clock speed of 3.7 GHz. The processor technology is 12 nanometers, and as for an inexpensive laptop, these are not bad numbers. But later I will tell you how the device copes with difficult tasks in practice.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

In addition, the laptop comes in two versions – 8 or 16 GB of RAM and 256 or 512 GB of internal SSD memory. I would. I advised you to pick up the 512 GB version at once, as it will not cost much more.

The graphics accelerator on the MagicBook 15 is Radeon Vega 8 Graphics. It received eight cores with a clock speed of up to 1.2 GHz. When it comes to gaming options, it’s not all bad.

For example, I ran Overwatch and the result at 1080p with minimum settings – the frame rate was 38 frames per second. If you lower the resolution to 1600 x 900 pixels, then the FPS rate rises to 50.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

Then I ran Assassin’s Creed Odyssey at 720p – the result was pretty interesting. Naturally, the game is very demanding, but at this resolution, I got an FPS result of about 23 frames per second. Please note that the processor does not heat up over 65 degrees.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

Another game is Apex Legends and during the game, I also left it at 720p and the result was about 35-40 FPS. When choosing an adaptive resolution, the frame rate increased to 55-60 FPS.

So for gaming purposes, the MagicBook 15 does a pretty good job. Below I will also leave an album with the benchmark test results.

Now a little about the operating system on the new laptop model. The Honor MagicBook 15, like previous generations, uses Windows 10 OS. That is, I had no problems using it. All operations were fast and I did not observe any freezes.

Another positive side is the Magic-link 2.0 feature. Thanks to this function, you can wirelessly display all information via NFC via your smartphone. This is a handy feature when you need to show photos, presentations, or just play games on the big laptop screen.

Battery and run time

Another positive aspect of the compact and small Honor MagicBook 15 2020 laptop is its battery life. A battery with a capacity of 42 Wh is installed inside the case. The manufacturer does not provide any information about its duration of work.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

But my practice has shown that the device can work for about 5 hours with Wi-Fi always on and at maximum brightness. If you watch a video on YouTube, the laptop will run out after about 6 hours of battery life. For heavier tasks, for example, during games, the device can last up to 1.5 hours.

Of course, battery life is not that high, but the other positive side is the charging time. A power adapter with a power of 65W is included in the kit with laptops and the full charge time will be up to 1.5 hours, and in half an hour the device is charged up to 50%.

Conclusion, reviews, pros, and cons

The Honor MagicBook 15 2020 is a very high-quality compact laptop I’ve tested. It received many positive aspects and let me tell you about them again.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

First of all, the device has a minimum size in thickness and weight, which will make it easy to transport. I also liked the quality of the screen with its color reproduction. Performance for a laptop in this price range is not bad at all. You can easily play demanding games, but not at maximum graphics settings.

In addition, the laptop is able to cope with the processing of photos or video editing.

Honor MagicBook 15 (2020) Review: Unique Laptop with Ryzen 5 4500U

On the downside, I can attribute it to the poor location of the front camera, the brightness level of the screen, and the lack of keyboard backlighting.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

Now you can get the Honor MagicBook 15 2020 laptop at an attractive price of $ 830.99 with a 32% discount.

If you’re looking for an inexpensive yet high-quality laptop that delivers decent performance, then the 3rd generation MagicBook is a good choice.

$830.99
$1,222.04
Aliexpress.com

Competitors and alternative

$679.99
$1,154.99
Banggood.com
$1,099.99
$1,729.99
Banggood.com
$1,379.99
$1,399.99
Banggood.com
error: Content is protected !!