DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

DOOGEE is known for its low-cost smartphones and even rugged devices with protection against water, drop and dust under IP68 standards can be found in their lineup. Today, a very interesting instance called DOOGEE S68 Pro came to my test.

I will tell everything in detail what I think about the new rugged smartphone, you will learn about performance, appearance, camera and the main advantages and disadvantages.

The device belongs to the middle class and now you can buy DOOGEE S68 Pro at a low price for only $199 and with a good discount.

20%
DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

DOOGEE S68 Pro: 5.9 inches IPS screen, Helio P70, 6/128 GB memory, 6300 mAh, NFC

Price: $199.99
Price: $199.99 Less

Given its low price, the S68 Pro model is equipped with pretty good features. I can refer to them – this is a bright 5.9-inch IPS screen, Helio P70 processor, 6 and 128 GB memory version, 6300 mAh with 24W fast charging and 10W wireless charging. Also, the smartphone received NFC contactless payment support and much more.

I always like rugged smartphones, they look very brutal and in the male hand, the DOOGEE S68 Pro looks cool. So let’s start our full review with unpacking and appearance.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Specifications

DOOGEE S68 Pro:Specs
Display: 5.9 inches IPS with 1080 x 2280 pixels
CPU: Helio P70 Octa Core 2.0GHz
GPU: ARM Mali-G72-MP2 GPU
RAM: 6GB
Internal memory: 128GB
Memory extension: up to 1 TB
Cameras: 21MP + 8MP + 8MP main camera and 16MP front camera
Connectivity: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band,3G, 4G, Bluetooth 4.2, NFC and GPS
Battery: 6300mAh (24W)
OS: Android 9
Connections: Type-C
Weight: 238 grams
Dimensions: 163.5 x 80.0 x 16.45 mm
Price: $199

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Unboxing

A rather large box came into my hands, where on the front you can see the name of the company, a series and the name of a model with a memory version.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

On the backside, except for the name of the model and have numbers there is nothing.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

Inside the box, I found the smartphone itself in a plastic bag and there is an orange protective film on the front of the device with the main features.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

In addition, I found a Type-C charging cable, a 24 W power adapter, a manual and a SIM needle.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

I was a little surprised at the very modest configuration since rugged smartphones come with a lot more accessories. For example, a strap, OTG adapters, 3.5 mm adapters for Type-C port, but these were not there.

Of course, there is no need to expect a protective cover, since the smartphone is completely protected from harmful factors.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Design

Given that the DOOGEE S68 Pro is a rugged smartphone that must withstand falls from a height of 1.5 meters, immersed in water for up to 30 minutes or not afraid of dust or dirt, so the dimensions and weight of the device are appropriate.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

It is clear that rugged smartphones are not intended for fragile girls, but for men who work in difficult conditions, for example, firefighter, builder, military or other difficult professions.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

Thus, the S68 Pro model received dimensions of 163.5 x 80.0 x 16.45 mm and weighs 238 grams. In my hands, the smartphone lies well, but using one hand will be problematic.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The side faces on the right and left are made of gray metal, and the back panel and the upper sides are made of rubberized plastic. On my test, the smartphone is in black, and there is also black with orange accents.

On the back, you can see the Doogee logo, NFC logo, IP68. In addition, there is the main camera with three sensors and a dual-LED flash. The fingerprint scanner is located just below the camera and it works quite accurately and most importantly, which is fast.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The main speaker was installed on the rear panel, too, and as for me, it is not the best and most convenient place. Since if the phone is on the back of the table, the sound from the speaker will be muffled.

The lower part of the face received a Type-C port with fast charging and microphone holes. The charging port is closed with a rubber plug so that water does not get inside the case.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The front of the smartphone DOOGEE S68 Pro has a 5.9-inch screen with Full HD resolution.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The frames around the screen are quite large, especially at the bottom and at the top, but as for a secure device – this is a typical solution.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

In the upper part, there is a front camera and various sensors, such as a proximity sensor or light. A little higher is the earpiece, which is protected by a metal mesh.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The controls are standard, for example, the power button and volume rocker are located on the right side.

And on the left, there is an additional multi-function button and a slot for two SIM cards or one SIM card and memory card.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

I have no questions regarding the assembly and quality of materials, the manufacturer DOOGEE tried in the S68 Pro model and has good potential, as for its middle-class device.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Screen

As I mentioned, the DOOGEE S68 Pro smartphone received a 5.9-inch screen with a resolution of Full HD + or 1080 x 2280 pixels. Given its small size, the pixel density is quite high and is 428 ppi.

The screen quality is standard and I do not see strong problems with the IPS matrix.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

Of course, it is not as bright and contrasting as AMOLED, but IPS has its advantages. For example, with prolonged use, tired eyes will not be so strong.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The maximum brightness was 430 cd/m² and this value is enough for comfortable use in sunny weather. The viewing angles are good and in the settings, you can find the night mode function.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Performance

The main feature for a secure smartphone is not high performance, but a high-quality and reliable assembly and good materials. But the DOOGEE S68 Pro model has its own advantages in terms of performance.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

Our today’s hero received an Helio P70 processor that runs on 12-nanometer technology. The chipset received four Cortex-A53 cores with a clock frequency of 2.0 GHz and four cores with a frequency of 2.0 GHz.

The ARM Mali-G72-MP2 GPU runs at 700 MHz. It does its job well and you can easily play even the most difficult games, such as Asphalt 9, PUBG Mobile or Call Of Duty. I did not find heating after 30 minutes of testing, and below you can watch the video gameplay of these three games.

The amount of memory is simply colossal, considering its price of up to $ 200. The rugged smartphone DOOGEE S68 Pro received 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of internal memory. Also, you have the opportunity to use an additional memory card.

I also conducted tests with benchmarks such as AnTuTu, Geekbench 5, 3DMark, AndroBench. The test results are very similar to the Galaxy S8.

Performance Helio P70 processor resembles Snapdragon 710. Below is the album you can see all the results and compare it with other smartphone models.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Software

The rugged smartphone DOOGEE S68 Pro runs on Android 9.0 with a proprietary Doogee interface. I can’t call a clean software, as many unnecessary applications are installed in the interface.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

Of course, the interface has built-in Google applications such as the Play Store, Youtube, Maps, and much more. Also, in the interface, there are third-party applications, for example, ToolBag. Here you can find an electronic compass, noise meter, magnifier, level, plumb line and much more. These applications are typical for almost every rugged smartphone and they will be useful, for example, for the builder.

If you go to the settings menu, you can also see completely atypical icons for the stock software. Naturally, the smartphone is multilingual and has a large list of languages ​​for different countries.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

In addition to fingerprints, there is an additional feature that recognizes the face of the owner. It does not work as good and fast as on flagship devices, but in the daytime, I had no problems.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

In general, the user interface is very interesting and during testing, I did not find any flaws or delays.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Communication

As for communications, I had no problems with conversational phone calls. DOOGEE S68 Pro uses two SIM cards with 4G support and has global communication in its execution, such as B1(2100)/B3(1800)/B7(2600)/B8(900)/B20(800).

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

In addition, the smartphone was equipped with a dual Wifi network, Bluetooth with version 4.2, as well as a GPS module and an NFC sensor. The latter sensor is very popular and during the operation, I did not find any problems with NFC.

Since the S68 Pro model is rugged, therefore, it contains OTA and OTG functions.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Camera

The main DOOGEE camera received a 21-megapixel sensor from Sony IMX230. The second and third 8-megapixel modules from the GC8034 and GC0310, one for telephoto and the other for ultra-wide shots.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The front camera has a 16-megapixel module with an f/2.0 aperture from S5K3P3SP06-FGX9.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

The camera application looks standard and all the necessary modes are present at the bottom of the screen.

As for the quality of the photos, in the daytime I have no complaints, the photos are very detailed and vivid. But at night, the photos are a little blurry and the street lamps are very lit.

Bokeh mode works very poorly, and the object needs to be configured independently, and not automatically. Therefore, with bokeh photos, not everything is very beautiful.

The ultra-wide mode of operation does not work very well, as in the photo you can see that the angles are quite blurry.

The main camera DOOGEE S68 Pro shoots video with a resolution of 1080p and 30 frames per second, there is also optical stabilization. The video is very smooth, and the colors are vibrant and realistic.

By the link here you can see the original photos of the S68 Pro

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Battery

In the case of the S68 Pro model, a 6300 mAh battery is installed and as for a rugged smartphone, this is a good indicator. In practice, the device worked for about 2 days with the active mode of use.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

Also, the manufacturer DOOGEE equipped its model with fast charging with a 24W adapter. Therefore, the charging time of a contented battery is about 1 hour and 35 minutes.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

In addition to all this, the smartphone received 10W wireless charging.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Conclusion and Reviews

After spending several days actively using the DOOGEE S68 Pro rugged smartphone, I was left with positive emotions.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

This is an ideal smartphone for harsh conditions, as it has protection against water, dust, and fall.

On the downside, I can attribute this to a modest package, as for a rugged smartphone. Also, the device does not have a 3.5 mm jack for headphones and even an adapter as well. The camera in bokeh and ultra-wide modes does not shoot in the best way.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

Given its insignificant minuses, the advantages are much more influential. For example, a good bright screen, beautiful appearance, good performance, sufficient memory, and good battery life.

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Price and Where to buy cheaper?

Now you can buy a rugged smartphone DOOGEE S68 Pro at a low and favorable price for only $199.99 with a 20% discount.

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

If you planned to buy a rugged smartphone, but are still not sure about the model, then the S68 Pro will be a perfect choice, given its price and technical features.

20%
DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020

DOOGEE S68 Pro: 5.9 inches IPS screen, Helio P70, 6/128 GB memory, 6300 mAh, NFC

Price: $199.99
Price: $199.99 Less

DOOGEE S68 Pro: Video Reviews

DOOGEE S68 Pro Review: Influential Rugged Smartphone 2020 was last modified: January 27th, 2020 by Boby Sanburn

Leave a Reply