Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Literally the other day, I tested a flagship rugged smartphone from Ulefone, but today we will talk about a more budget model of a rugged smartphone called BlackView BV6600.

This is a new updated smartphone that replaces its older brother Blackview BV6800 Pro. Yes, I was a little confused about the model naming, as the BV6600 is the new model and the BV6800 Pro is the old one.

As for the cost, the current price tag for the BlackView BV6600 is in the range of $200. Yes, it is slightly more expensive than rugged models from the same brand. For example, the BV6800 Pro smartphone will cost you $190 and the BV9100 model for $185.

$199.99
Aliexpress.com

From a technical point of view, the rugged BV6600 smartphone is very good. Here, look at the front part there is a 5.7-inch IPS screen, a modern Mediatek Helio A25 processor is used and there are 4 and 64 GB versions of memory.

In addition, the device received triple cameras on the back and one selfie camera on the front. Another model BV6600 stands out with a good battery capacity of 8580mAh with fast charging at 18W of power.

Therefore, in this full and in-depth review, I want to tell you how the new smartphone model from BlackView has shown itself in real life. In this way, you can find out about the main advantages and disadvantages after reading this article.

BlackView BV6600: Specifications

BlackView BV6600:Specs
Display:5.7 inches IPS with 720 x 1440 pixels, 60 Hz
CPU:Mediatek Helio A25 Octa Core 1.8GHz
GPU:PowerVR GE8320
RAM:4GB
Internal memory:64GB
Memory extension:Up to 2TB
Cameras:16MP + ?MP + ?MP main camera and 8MP front camera
Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band, Bluetooth 5.0, NFC and GPS
Battery:8580mAh (18W)
OS:Android 10
Connections:Type-C
Weight:325 grams
Dimensions:169.8 x 73.4 x 18 mm
Price:$199

Unboxing and packaging

The BlackView BV6600 smartphone comes in a typical box, like other models from the BlackView brand. It is a rather large square box, which is made in white, and on the front, there is only the company name and a sticker with the model name.

Everything inside the package was simple and without unnecessary accessories, as is usually the case with rugged mobile devices. For example, after opening the box, I was greeted directly by the smartphone itself on the left side. But on the right side, there was a Type-C charging cable, an 18W power adapter, and a special needle for the SIM tray.

In general, the package bundle is not very large and I would not mind getting at least an additional protective glass for the screen. But it was not here and you will have to buy it separately. Ok, now let’s check how the device is assembled and from what materials.

Design, build quality, and materials used

Like absolutely any rugged smartphone, the new BlackView BV6600 model also received very massive not only dimensions but also weight, including. For example, the dimensions of the device are about 18 mm thick, and the smartphone weighs about 325 grams.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Therefore, without any doubt, it is not difficult to conclude that using the BV6600 in everyday life will not be as comfortable as we would like it to be. Here’s a fact for you, the thickness of 18mm is like two flagship smartphones, for example, the iPhone 12.

Yes, it may not be so comfortable to operate your smartphone, but for some reason, it will withstand almost any difficulties. That is, you can dive underwater with it, it is also not afraid of dust or sand, and even falls from a height of 1.5 meters. The device is protected under the IP68 and IP69K MIL-STD-810G standard.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

During my tests, I only submerged the smartphone underwater and the BV6600 coped with this task without any problems. I felt sorry to throw my smartphone from a height onto the asphalt, because I know that after a fall there will be traces of scuffing or scratches. As I already said, any device can be broken, only how quickly it already depends on the operating conditions.

In terms of the materials used, everything is fine here, since the body is almost entirely made of a combination of durable plastic and rubber. And the side ends received metal inserts for a stronger structure. At the same time, the build quality is very high and I did not notice any squeaks or other extraneous sounds during the test.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

The backside received three sensors of the main camera with LED flash. The manufacturer also left the NFC badge here, which speaks for the availability of the contactless payment function.

The right side of the smartphone received a power button with a built-in fingerprint scanner and buttons for volume control are located just above. On the opposite side, there is a hybrid slot for dual nano-SIM cards or one nano-SIM card and memory card. Just below the slot, there is a custom button for quick access to various tasks.

One speaker was installed at the bottom of the rugged device. The sound quality is not the highest, since there are practically no low frequencies and bass here, but the volume reserve for high and high frequencies plays distinctly. And in the central part, under the plug, there is a Type-C port for charging.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Meanwhile, the front of the BlackView BV6600 smartphone had a small screen size by modern standards. It is a 5.7-inch IPS screen with a small HD+ or 720 x 1440 pixels resolution. At the same time, the screen itself was protected by Gorilla Glass 3.

Apart from the fact that the pixel density per inch was only 182 PPI, the overall screen quality is pretty good. For example, the viewing angles are quite high, and the maximum brightness value is enough for comfortable use of the screen in sunny weather.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Another disadvantage when choosing a BV6600 model can be rather massive frames around the screen. They are really big and usually a little smaller on rugged smartphones. Okay, now I propose to talk about benchmarks and games.

Performance, benchmarks, games, and OS

The new model of a rugged smartphone from BlackView uses a very simple and budget processor Mediatek Helio A25. Yes, it may not be the oldest one that I was able to test in 2021. Since it is this particular Helio A25 chipset that was introduced in early 2020.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

It is built on 12-nanometer technology and has eight ARM Cortex-A53 cores with a maximum clock speed of 1.8 GHz. As you can see, the performance of the BV6600 is not a strong point. For example, a benchmark test such as AnTuTu scored about 98 thousand points.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

As for gaming abilities, you can play simple and uncomplicated games on the rugged BV6600 smartphone. But heavy and demanding games, such as Asphalt 9 or PUBG Mobile, may be played on the low graphics settings, and occasionally crashes and freezes are possible. Although I was pleased with one thing about the work of the PowerVR GE8320 graphics accelerator – the lack of strong heating.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

In addition, the smartphone has 4 GB of DDR3 RAM and 64 UFS 2.1 internal memory. The memory test completely satisfied me, since the read speed was 220 MB/s, and the write speed was 150 MB/s. You also have the option to use the microSD card slot, but you have to sacrifice a second nano-SIM card.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Naturally, the smartphone only received support for 4G LTE communication and 5G is out of the question. I was also pleased with the presence of a dual-band Wi-Fi module, Bluetooth 5.0 version, and most importantly, the presence of an NFC module. Recently, having a contactless payment method is a necessary feature in 2021.

At the same time, a rugged smartphone BlackView BV6600 running the Android 10 version is working. This is practically a stock operating system that has already built-in Google services and applications at its disposal. For example, these are YouTube, Google Maps, Chrome, and other programs. The user interface also received many additional features, such as a custom button with quick access to various functions.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Overall, I liked the way the user interface worked, but during my tests, I didn’t get a single update. Therefore, I cannot be sure that the smartphone will receive updates in the future. This is a big problem not only for the BlackView brand but also for other Chinese smartphone models.

Camera and sample photos

The camera performance is not yet the greatest strength of the BlackView BV6600. That is, there are triple camera sensors on the back of the device. But I only found one valid sensor, which is the 16MP Samsung S5K3P9SX camera.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

But there is no information about the other two sensors. Therefore, I believe that the manufacturer made the other two camera modules just for beauty, in a word – fake.

But I cannot say that the quality of the main camera is very terrible. Since the photos were quite bright and contrasting, for their class of devices.

At the same time, another Sony IMX219 camera for selfies with a resolution of 8 megapixels is located on the front of the smartphone. Yes, maybe in poor lighting the quality of the front camera is not the best, but in daylight, I did not have strong remarks.

Battery and run time

If performance and camera are not a strong point for the BlackView BV6600 rugged smartphone, then the battery life is very good.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Inside the case, the manufacturer has set a good 8580 mAh battery capacity. This is a solid battery capacity, which showed a very good result in battery life.

Look, with quite active use, the rugged smartphone BV6600 was discharged at the end of the third day. I was surprised at the battery life. At the same time, I did not forget that the screen resolution is not very high and the energy efficiency is also at a sufficient level.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

As for the charging time through the Type-C port and the 18W power adapter, it took me about 3.5 hours to fully charge.

Conclusion, reviews, pros, and cons

Considering that the main feature of the BlackView BV6600 model is its protection from the outside world. Then I can definitely say that the rugged smartphone performs its functions.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

Although this model has a number of negative aspects that I want to talk about. The first thing I didn’t like about the BV6600 is the small screen size with low resolution and pixel density per inch.

Also, the performance did not make me feel good. In addition, the smartphone has two fake camera modules on the back of the device. I can also highlight the lack of a 3.5 mm audio jack and, of course, the large size and weight.

Blackview BV6600 Review: Ultra Budget Rugged Smartphone 2021

On the positive side, I can attribute it to the good build quality and materials used. Naturally protected from water, dust and drops under the MIL-STD-810G IP68 and IP69K standard. Ability to play heavy games without overheating. I also liked the battery life, loudspeaker, and stock Android 10 operating system.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

As I said at the beginning of the review, the price tag of the BlackView BV6600 is rather overpriced at the moment. Therefore, I do not advise you to buy now.

But from March 1 to March 14, there will be an auction offer and the price tag will be much lower. The company is hiding the real cost for now, but I guess the price of the BV6600 will not exceed $130.

$199.99
Aliexpress.com

Competitor and Alternative

$98.56
$142.84
Aliexpress.com
$124.99
$219.99
Banggood.com
$154.99
$249.99
Banggood.com
error: Content is protected !!