Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

A couple of days ago I tested the third generation of smartwatches in the GTR line from the Amazfit brand. Today I also want to talk about the third generation, only of the GTS line, namely the Amazfit GTS 3.

In this review, I will share with you the experience of using the new generation of smartwatches. In addition, I will tell you about the main updated features and functions. You can also find out the advantages and disadvantages of the third generation of smartwatches from Amazfit.

If we talk about cost, now the manufacturer is asking for the same amount of money for the Amazfit GTS 3 as for the Amazfit GTR 3. That is, the price tag for the device was $179.

$179.99
$316.65
Aliexpress.com

In fact, the appearance of the new generation of watches has remained practically intact when compared to the second generation. This is the same square screen, but with a size of 1.75 inches instead of 1.65 inches. Also, the watch received a very light weight and a thin body of the device, so the watch should be fine with ergonomics.

Among other features, I can single out the presence of more than 150+ different sports training modes. In addition, smartwatches have received many interesting features and functions, but I want to talk about each of them in more detail in a detailed and complete review below. Therefore, I suggest starting deep testing right now.

Amazfit GTS 3: Specifications

Amazfit GTS 3:Specs
Screen:1.75 inch AMOLED screen with 390 x 450 pixels
Sensor:Heart-rate monitor, Proximity sensor, Accelerometer
IP standart:5 ATM
Connection:Bluetooth 5.1
Battery:250 mAh
Standby time:up to 6 days
Size:42.4 x 36 x 8.8 mm
Weight:36g
Price:$179

Unboxing and packaging

The new generation of Amazfit GTS 3 smartwatches is delivered, just like the GTR 3 model, in new packaging. But only the appearance of the packaging in the GTS line showed a blue color, but the GTR line had a red packaging color. On the front of the box, you can see the name of the model with the designation of the corporate logo – a chameleon. There was also a drawing of the device with the main features.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

As I said in my last review, the packaging itself didn’t look budget-friendly. But do not forget that this watch belongs to the flagship class of devices.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

Meanwhile, inside the package, I found the following components, this is the smartwatch itself. The package also included a charging dock with a two-pin magnetic connection and instructions in various languages. In general, everything was standard here, like on any other smartwatch model from Amazfit.

Design, build quality and materials

The new smartwatch model Amazfit GTS 3 is available in three different color options. You can order at the present time in two colors: black or as the manufacturer calls the graphite version and in gold or the so-called olive. Brown is also still available, but not available yet. Therefore, I assume that this color will also be available in the future.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

As for the materials used, the watch was made of an aluminum alloy. But the screen was protected by a protective glass, and the back side had a matte plastic coating. That is, I really liked the materials used in the workmanship, which were premium and reliable.

At the same time, the build quality was also at the appropriate level. All gaps and components were perfectly matched to each other and did not have extraneous squeaks and did not emit unnecessary sounds. In addition, the device was fully protected from water under the 5 ATM standard. That is, I could easily swim in the pool with a watch or take a shower. But I will immediately note that the maximum depth for diving should not exceed 50 meters or a pressure of 5 atmospheres.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

On the front of the Amazfit GTS 3 smartwatch, there is now a slightly enlarged AMOLED screen. That is, the device received 1.75 inches with a resolution of 390 x 450 pixels. Let me remind you that the second generation of the GTS 2 smartwatch had a screen with a size of 1.65 inches.

I can also highlight that the maximum value of the screen brightness was 1000 nits. This means that you can use the watch both indoors and outdoors without any problems. I also liked the 60Hz refresh rate. This feature had a very positive impact on the user interface. That is, the smoothness of scrolling has become many times better, even if we compare the watch with the previous generation GTS 2.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

In short, the screen quality has become much better compared to the second generation. In addition, I can see that the dimensions of the device have remained almost the same, it is 42.4 x 36 x 8.8 mm, but the frames around the screen have become smaller.

At the same time, the thickness of the case of the Amazfit GTS 3 smartwatch has become less than 9 mm, and as for the watch category, this is a very good indicator. Therefore, in terms of wearing comfort, you will definitely not have any problems. You can also say that this watch model is suitable for both men and women. At the same time, the weight of the device was only 25 grams, excluding the weight of the strap. But the weight with the strap was only about 36 grams.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

On the right side of the case of the GTS 3 smartwatch, there is a power button with an integrated crown function. That is, you can turn the wheel and flip through sections or functions in the user interface. Exactly the same crown was on the Amazfit GTR 3 model, and I did not reveal any special complaints in its work.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

At the same time, the back of the device received a two-pin magnetic connection for charging and a sensor for measuring the heart rate of the new PPG 3.0 sample. But I will talk about his work a little later.

The last thing I wanted to talk about in this section is the strap itself. It has received a width of 20 mm and, as in the last generation, is removable. That is, you can easily replace the strap with any other option.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

As for the changes, they also affected the strap itself. Now you can see a striped texture on the outside of the strap, and more pronounced waves on the inside for even more comfort while wearing. Okay, I figured out the appearance, now I propose to talk about functions and other features.

Management, functions, settings and mobile app

Before using the smartwatch with all the available functions, you need to connect to the mobile application. The Zepp app is called and it is available for both Android and iOS devices.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

When you turn on the Amazfit GTS 3 for the first time, you will see a QR code that will need to be scanned in the mobile application. In fact, the pairing process was very simple and easy, and did not take me more than 5 minutes of time.

Ok, I’ll talk about the functions of the Zepp app a little later, now let’s talk about the controls and all the existing features of the Amazfit smartwatch. The main screen of the watch received many interesting dials, it can be analog or digital.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

In addition, some watch face styles have customizable feature icons. That is, you can easily change your heart rate readings to SpO2 readings or other features. Also, through the mobile application, you can easily install many other types of watch faces.

Now let’s talk about controlling the Amazfit GTS 3 smartwatch. Immediately, I note that the user interface of the device is called Zepp OS. Therefore, all control gestures will be the same as for most smart device products from Amazfit.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

For example, with a swipe from top to bottom, I get to the quick settings section. There are the following icons here: flashlight, do not disturb, theater mode, brightness level, calendar, battery level, find a smartphone and general settings.

There are many useful sections and features in the main settings of the Amazfit GTS 3 smartwatch. These are watch faces and time, screen settings, vibration, and other device settings. In fact, the number of settings on a smartwatch is much more than in the settings of a mobile application. That is, through the watch, you can customize the watch to your taste and color. Therefore, you do not need to go into the application settings and still deal with all the options and their settings there.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

But with a swipe from bottom to top, the menu of recent notifications will open. I did not find any particular complaints in this section, since the text was displayed well. In addition, in the upper left corner there was an icon for the displaying application.

Now let’s talk about the widgets that are available on the new Amazfit GTS 3. To display the widgets, you need to swipe left or right from the home screen of the smartwatch. The first widget shows us the steps taken, distance and activity time. Next, you can watch widgets such as measuring health indicators with one click. That is, in less than 1 minute you will know the results of your heart rate, SpO2, stress level and number of breaths per minute.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

I can also highlight the rather standard widgets: weather, music player, sleep and others. In addition, through the mobile application, you can change the arrangement of widgets, add or change the very features of these widgets. The maximum number of available widgets is ten.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

To enter the main menu with all the features and functions, you need to press the button on the right side of the device once. Here I see the following applications, such as PAI, heart rate, SpO2, one-touch health measurements, sports training, training history log, stress, activity, sleep, weather, music player, alarm clock, calendar, general settings and more.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

In the more section, there is also an extensive list of various applications. These are the heyday and sunset, compass, barometer, menstrual cycle in women, breathing recovery, stopwatch, timer, find a smartphone, and world clock.

If we talk about sports training modes, then on the Amazfit GTS 3 smartwatch there are more than 150+ different types of training. The choice is really extensive and the number of workouts will definitely allow you to choose the type of activity that is even considered little known. In addition, the watch uses a GPS module and I cannot say anything negative about its work. That is, the route was built accurately and I did not observe any special deviations.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

Now let’s talk about the Zepp mobile app. Just like on the GTR 3 version, the new Amazfit GTS 3 model has received an interesting feature – the app store. In fact, there are not many applications available, but I think that over time the number of applications will only grow. For example, from this list of applications I can single out the following functions. This is a calculator, SOS flashlight, pregnancy assistant and much more.

Other mobile application settings have similar features and controls. For example, through the app, you can analyze your athletic performance, monitor steps, distance, calories, heart rate, SpO2 and much more. Overall, the mobile app is very simple and intuitive to use. Therefore, here you will definitely not have any particular difficulties while using it.

Battery and run time

The built-in battery on the Amazfit GTS 3 smartwatch model received a capacity of 250 mAh. This is almost half that of the GTR 3. Therefore, the battery life will differ between the two models.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

For example, with the active use of all features and functions, the watch can work for about 6 days. But if you use the power-saving mode with limited function settings, then the battery life will be about 12 days.

At the same time, it took me about 2 hours to fully charge the device from 0 to 100%.

Conclusion, reviews, pros and cons

After several days of active testing of the third generation of smartwatches Amazfit GTS 3, I have both positive and negative reviews.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

Let’s talk about the merits of a smartwatch. Of course, the device from Amazfit stands out for its high-quality assembly and premium materials. But the device has received a minimalistic design and construction, like the last second generation in the GTS line.

Another positive aspect is the presence of a 1.75-inch enlarged screen with AMOLED matrix, 1000 nits brightness and 60 Hz refresh rate. Also, the number of functions and features has increased and the user interface has been much smoother and faster.

Amazfit GTS 3 Review: Full and Detailed Inspection of New Smartwatch 2021

But there are also disadvantages and the main disadvantage for me was the lack of a Bluetooth call function. That is, in the second generation GTS 2, this function was, now there is neither a microphone nor a speaker.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

Currently, the new generation of smart watches Amazfit GTS 3 will cost the future user for $179.99 including all discounts and coupons.

This is the same price as the second generation of smartwatches from Amazfit. But only now there are many interesting features that were not there before. Therefore, I can recommend a new watch for purchase. Although it should be understood that the most important function will no longer be here, and I’m talking about Bluetooth calls.

$179.99
$316.65
Aliexpress.com

Competitors and alternative

$169.00
$211.25
Aliexpress.com
$179.99
$316.65
Aliexpress.com
$239.99
$418.16
Aliexpress.com
error: Content is protected !!