Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

Oculus and Xiaomi enter the world of Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone in our review today. In front of him, a whole universe of new users that seek more the price than its characteristics and at stake the massive adoption of the VR.

The first day that a phone was able to put its screen behind the lenses of a virtual viewer, the VR took two very different paths: one that would seek excellence in all sections and another, more pragmatic and open to many more users, that would try to expand the adoption of this technology where the first one did not arrive.

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone Virtual Reality Headset

Price: $359.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

Screen: 5.5 inch LCD 2K with 2560x1440 pixels, RAM: 3GB, ROM: 32/64GB, Snapdragon 821 and 4-Cores up to 2.4 GHz

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone Virtual Reality Headset

Price: $359.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

Screen: 5.5 inch LCD 2K with 2560x1440 pixels, RAM: 3GB, ROM: 32/64GB, Snapdragon 821 and 4-Cores up to 2.4 GHz

With the freedom of a complete design, Xiaomi Mi VR could strip the phone of everything the VR did not need, it would add everything it needed but do not have, it would choose the best lenses and screens and put it all inside a casing.

With Samsung making war on its own in the Microsoft (Odyssey) viewers, Oculus looked to China and there found in the low-cost miracle manufacturer Xiaomi, the new travel companion that would help him build his first Standalone VR is the Xiaomi Mi VR.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Specifications

Xiaomi Mi VR:Specs
Display: 5.5 inches with 2560 x 1440 pixels
CPU: Snapdragon 821 and 4-Cores up to 2.4 GHz
GPU: Adreno 530
RAM: 3GB
Internal memory: 32/64GB
Memory extension: Not Supported
Connectivity: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band
Connections: Micro USB slot and 3.5mm Audio Jack
Weight: 425 grams
Dimensions: 190.0 x 115.0 x 105.0 mm
Price: $360

Xiaomi Mi VR: Design and Appearance

When something works, better not touch it. Xiaomi, like Vive, seems to remain faithful to their original designs.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The Xiaomi Mi VR in our analisis transfers the shape of the RIFTs to the mobile concept and mixes it with a harder and more resistant looking plastic as if that already gave to understand that this new standalone VR is prepared to resist the kilometers that the user will give throughout its useful life.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The lenses are mounted on another hard piece, screwed to the structure, and the few openings in the housing do not carry any type of visible nomenclature.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

It is a compact and compact VR, very much in the style of the hardware models manufactured by the company XIAOMI, with the MI logo mark on the front and the Oculus logo is written very discreetly on only one of the sides.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The support on the user’s head is made through elastic bands installed in three points of the VR: on the sides, thanks to a thick plastic plate that joins the strip with the housing, and another superior, directly contoured in the own plastic of it.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The velcros are quite extensive and cover much of the ribbons, allowing its adjustment to all types of head size, from children to adult.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

In our scale, the viewfinder weighed 425 grams, a pleasant surprise since the GearVR reaches 550 grams.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

How Xiaomi Mi VR and Oculus managed to put a hardware plate, an LCD screen, Fresnel lenses, a proximity sensor, the battery and less than half a kilo in the case, it seems incredible and is one of those characteristics that immediately call the attention when removing the Xiaomi Mi VR from the box: the viewfinder is comfortable and despite the extra grams, it feels light.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The protection pad that will rub your face constantly is a fairly dense and thick piece (1.5cm), so padded and comfortable that allows you to tighten the fastening strips with something more force than in other visors.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

For all those who need prescription glasses, Xiaomi Mi VR in the test has thought of them and comes with an optional 5cm thick addition that can be installed under the pad itself to get that extra space needed between the lenses and glasses of our own glasses.

Finally, the housing offers two buttons: one on and off and two others for volume control.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Screen

Return the eternal discussion on what technology is better for the VR, if OLED or LCD. The Xiaomi Mi VR mount a single WQHD LCD panel, or what is the same: a single liquid crystal display with a resolution of 2560 x 1440 pixels and 5.5 inches, 538PPI, 60Hz-72Hz and a full 2R subpixel frame.

Remember that the choice of manufacturers for OLED screens has almost always been due to two characteristics: the depth of the blacks they represent and, above all, the speed at which they turn on their pixels.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

This system allowed to accelerate the screens and bring them closer to the OLED models, thus gaining the best of LCD technology: having all those subpixels that were lost in OLED.

In this way, and although it will take several generations to say goodbye, the effect SDE (Screen Door effect, or that black grid that stains the entire image) has been reduced significantly.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The refresh rate will work at a maximum of 72Hz, even short of the 90Hz provided by the desktop VR.

In this case, it will be the developers who decide to place themselves in a range that will go from 60Hz at least up to 72Hz maximum. What will it depend on? Since Snapdragon SoCs do not have the necessary power to process the virtual frames at that speed (11 milliseconds), some decisions had to be made.

How important is it not to reach 90Hz? As always, it will depend on the demands of the application, but especially on how optimized it is.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

In short, the Xiaomi Mi VR screen, even with the limitations of the LCD, is another leap in the overall quality of the VR, even in viewers associated with a PC (Rift).

The clarity of the whole, a small wall, without noticeable ghosting and the little screen door distinguishable (far from being invisible) balance a few deep blacks, some somewhat pale colors and the somewhat scarce brightness of this type of screens.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Hardware and Performance

Xiaomi Mi VR in collaboration with Qualcomm has chosen the Snapdragon 821 model, which was introduced in mid-2016 and is now installed on many mid-range phones, such as Google Pixel, Xiaomi Mi Mix, or Asus Zenfone 3 Deluxe.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

Some time ago, Qualcomm equipped Snapdragon with an SDK (development software) that allowed VR functions, so it is not surprising that Oculus and Xiaomi chose this manufacturer.

Qualcomm offers two Snapdragon 821 different (both 14nm): The model MSM8996 Pro-AB and model MSM8996 Pro-AC. Both include an ARMv8 Quadcore CPU, Ram DDR4 at 1866MHz and Adreno 530 GPU.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The difference lies in the speed of its clocks: The CPU of the Pro-AB model runs at 2.15 GHz + 1,593 GHz and its GPU at 624 MHz while the Pro-AC version raises its processing speed to 2,342 GHz + 1.6 / 2,188 GHz CPU and 653 MHz GPU.

Unfortunately, until we have a particular version of the Xiaomi Mi VR to gut it, we can not ensure which of the two models is installed.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Glasses

Inside the viewer, we find the first link of the virtual chain. If in the GearVR the lenses were completely pure and in the RIFT a mixture with Fresnel, with Xiaomi Mi VR has decided to bet on Fresnel technology.

Just take a quick look at the crystals to see exactly how the concentric rings crowd from the periphery to the center of the lens.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

Once the Xiaomi Mi VR screen is illuminated, along with the Xiaomi logo, a good amount of unwanted glare (glare) is presented to us. It is normal.

We already know what foot the current VR lacks and the limitations of its lenses. And although the Fresnel technique has many strengths, minimizing glare is not one of them.

The lenses of the Xiaomi Mi VR represent a quantum leap with respect to the GearVR (and any other similar equipment).

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The sweet spot – that place where the focus reaches the maximum quality that the lens can provide – extends over 99% of the surface.

Perhaps this detail is the first example of how the VR is exceeded day after day: only a few months ago it was unthinkable to find such perfect lenses in a device with these mobile characteristics at this price range.

Whether corrected by software or by the design of the screens, the lenses of the Xiaomi Mi VR raise the quality of viewing at levels never seen in previous generations and promise that the still-to-reach viewers reach extraordinary levels.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Controller

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

With a different design than the one presented with the GearVR, the new controller also has a large trackpad but it only has two physical buttons (it does not have audio volume control) and the trigger in the rear area.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

Ergonomics is the right one and the weight (65gr) also translates the impression of being holding a quality pointer. Reduce, yes, the need for 2 AA batteries to one.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The tracking through IMU (inertial measurement unit) has its virtues but also its defects. While it is a very practical and inexpensive way to follow the movement of an object, the drifts that occur over time require a continuous adjustment.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Sound

One of the great surprises of this viewer. Perhaps due to the Xiaomi Mi VR experience in certain markets or the good work of the Oculus engineers.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

The placement of the speakers on the sides, very close to our body, generates a spectacular surround sound 360 degrees.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Conclusions and Reviews

Although we had clear our final impressions, and since Xiaomi Mi VR points to a spectrum of the public away from the VR.

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018

Xiaomi Mi VR, therefore, comes to democratize the quality of static VR in a segment of people who until now remained reluctant to use it for several reasons: the need for a phone, the viewing quality and the excessive price for a user medium.

The price and viewing quality, in that order, were the most repeated comments. When we said that the package would be around $300, everyone, including some that we could define as the typical “hater of the RV”, exclaimed: “I’ll buy this when I leave, even if it’s to watch movies”.

Xiaomi Mi VR: Price and Where to buy cheaper?

At the moment, you can already buy Xiaomi Mi VR at a good and attractive price for only $359.99. So this is a good device for a variety of visions in a virtual reality environment in 2018.

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone Virtual Reality Headset

Price: $359.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

Screen: 5.5 inch LCD 2K with 2560x1440 pixels, RAM: 3GB, ROM: 32/64GB, Snapdragon 821 and 4-Cores up to 2.4 GHz

Xiaomi Mi VR Standalone Virtual Reality Headset

Price: $359.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

Screen: 5.5 inch LCD 2K with 2560x1440 pixels, RAM: 3GB, ROM: 32/64GB, Snapdragon 821 and 4-Cores up to 2.4 GHz

Xiaomi Mi VR Review: Standalone Virtual Reality Headset 2018 was last modified: June 15th, 2018 by Boby Sanburn

Leave a Reply