Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

A little less than half a year has passed since I tested the flagship tablet model from Lenovo. This time, the manufacturer decided to surprise all its fans a little and released an updated model, which received the similar name Lenovo P11 Pro 2021.

If the appearance on the new tablet model remains as perfect as on the previous version, then the filling has received a number of significant changes. But before talking about the technical part of the device, let’s first talk about its cost.

Currently, the price tag for the updated generation of the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet is about $515. For comparison, I note that the cost of the previous generation will cost you $400. That is, the price difference between the tablets is quite significant. Therefore, let’s find out the main differences between the two versions of tablets.

$516.55
$549.00
Aliexpress.com

First of all, I want to note that the screen size on the new model has remained untouched – this is an 11.5-inch OLED screen with a 2.5K resolution. But there are differences, as the P11 Pro 2021 has a new feature – 90Hz refresh rate.

Another major change is the heart of the device. That is, the new generation of the tablet uses the Snapdragon 870 processor. Let me remind you that the previous generation had the Snapdragon 730G. In addition, the device received improved RAM with 6 GB LPDDR5 format and 128 GB of internal UFS 3.1 memory.

If you are interested in learning about other features and functions of the new generation of the tablet from Lenovo, then I suggest starting an in-depth and detailed inspection of the device with me.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021: Specifications

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021:Specs
Display:11.5 inches OLED with 1600 x 2560 pixels, 90Hz
CPU:Snapdragon 870 Octa Core 3.2GHz
GPU:Adreno 650
RAM:6GB
Internal memory:128GB
Memory extension:Up to 2TB
Cameras:13MP + 8MP main camera and 8MP + IR TOF 3D front camera
Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band, Bluetooth 5.1 and GPS
Battery:8600mAh (20W)
OS:Android 11
Connections:Type-C
Weight:485 grams
Dimensions:264.3 x 171.4 x 5.8 mm
Price:$515

Unboxing and packaging

As you can see, my version of the tablet was created for the Chinese market. But I will immediately warn you that I did not find much difference except for the appearance of the packaging and the power adapter.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

At the same time, the packaging itself was made in the same style as the previous generation of the Lenovo P11 Pro tablet. On the front, you can find a drawing of a device with the model name XiaoXin Pad Pro in Chinese.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

Inside the package itself, I found the following components, such as a tablet, a 20W power adapter and a Type-C cable. Naturally, there were instructions for use here, but unfortunately it was completely in Chinese.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

In addition, an external built-in keyboard with a touchpad came to my review. I think it will be useful for those people who plan to print various texts, keep tables or carry out other work operations.

Design, build quality and materials

As for the appearance of the new generation of the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet, it almost remained the same as the previous generation. But I also cannot call it completely identical, and let’s first talk about the dimensions and weight of the new device model.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

Of course, the first thing that surprised me a lot was the thickness of the tablet body, which was only 5.8 mm. At the same time, the previous generation of the tablet from Lenovo had a thickness of 6.8 mm. Okay, if you look at the dimensions of the device, they are 264.3 x 171.4 x 5.8 mm, and the weight of the tablet does not exceed 485 grams.

With such dimensions and weight, you can easily transport your tablet anywhere in the city or use it as a travel task.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

If you look at the quality of performance, then I did not reveal any special complaints during my testing. All connecting elements were perfectly folded and had no extraneous squeaks and sounds.

I also want to note that the body of the P11 Pro tablet was completely made of aluminum alloy, both the back and the sides. But on the front part, a protective tempered glass is used against scratches and other troubles.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

The back of the tablet Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 received dual main camera modules with LED flash. Also on the left side of the case is the Lenovo brand logo. Even at the bottom of the case, you can find the JBL and Dolby Vision markings.

It can be noted that the main camera model protrudes slightly by about 3 mm. But if you use the protective case, which is sold separately, you will not have much of a problem with the camera bulging out.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

The upper end of the tablet has two holes that serve as a microphone. There is also a volume rocker here. But on the bottom of the device, I found a four-pin connection for a removable keyboard with two fairly strong magnetic connections.

The left side of the Lenovo P11 Pro tablet received a power button with a built-in fingerprint scanner. In addition, on this edge there are two speakers and a slot for an additional memory card. But on the right side of the device, there are two additional speakers from the JBL brand and a Type-C connection.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

It is worth noting here that the fingerprint scanner performed 100% perfectly. That is, my finger was recognized accurately and without any problems. I also liked the presence of four JBL speakers. Sounding music or watching movies will definitely bring you an incredible amount of emotions.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

Of the minuses, I can single out – this is the presence of only a slot for a memory card, but a slot for a SIM card on the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet model is not provided. There was a similar problem on the last generation of the device. I also did not like that the tablet did not receive a 3.5 mm headphone jack. Although I understand that if there was a headphone jack in the tablet case, then its thickness would not be 5.8 mm.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

The front part of the device received rather insignificant frames around the body, which were about 8 mm. In addition, on the top frame, you can find two camera sensors. Where one serves for selfies, and the second for reading 3D models of the owner’s face. A similar technology is used on smartphones from Apple. During my testing, I did not find any particular problems with face recognition.

Screen and image quality

The differences between the new and the previous generation are almost imperceptible, but they are there. But first, let me tell you about the main features of the screen in the new generation of the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet. First of all, it is worth highlighting that the screen size has remained untouched, it is an 11.5-inch OLED display with a similar resolution of 2560 x 1600 pixels.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

But the main difference between the two tablet models is that the new device received a 90 Hz refresh rate. This feature will not only allow you to get a smoother user interface experience, but also give you a smoother gaming experience.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

Other features include HDR10 and Dolby Vision. Yes, indeed, the picture quality of the screen on the new tablet model turned out to be very bright and has rich and rich colors. I can also highlight that the maximum brightness value was within 580 nits. This means you can use your tablet outdoors without too much trouble.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

Considering that this is a flagship tablet model, it makes no sense to expect a poor screen quality here. As my practice has shown, the image quality with OLED technology received a very rich contrast picture and the viewing angles were wide. Okay, now let’s find out the main differences in terms of performance of the new generation of the tablet from the Lenovo brand.

Performance, benchmarks, games and OS

Another improvement in the new generation of the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet is the use of the new Snapdragon 870 processor. This processor has received support for the 5G network, but as I said earlier, the device does not have a SIM card slot. This chipset shows good results in terms of performance, since it uses an eight-core processor. Where the main core got a maximum clock speed of 3.2GHz.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

As usual, below I will leave an album with various benchmark tests. From these tests, you can easily draw conclusions and compare the performance with the previous generation of the tablet or the main competitors. On my own behalf, I note that in real life the device worked very smoothly and quickly. That is, all processes were executed without any delay. For comparison, I note that in the Antutu test, the device scored about 713 thousand points, but the previous generation had 271 thousand points in the same test.

The new tablet also uses an updated version of the Adreno 650 graphics accelerator. I was able to play games such as Genshin Impact and PUBG Mobile with ease and did not have any particular problems during these games. All processes went smoothly and quickly, despite the fact that the graphics were set at ultra high values. At the same time, the device did not really heat up even after 1 hour of playing games.

As I mentioned earlier, the tablet comes with 6GB of LPDDR5 RAM and 128GB of UFS 3.1 internal storage. If you look at the read and write speed of the internal memory, you might be a little surprised. Since 1700 MBps read speed and 700 MBps write speed is a pretty solid indicator for its class of devices.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

Other features of the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet include Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.1 versions, and USB Type-C 3.1. But on board the device there are no such modules as GPS, NFC and radio. But it should be said that the speed of the Wi-Fi connection was always stable and fast, even at a distance of 10 meters from the router.

NIUBILITY N1 Review: Affordable Electric Scooter for $270

If we talk about the operating system, then the tablet uses Android 11 version with the user interface ZUI 12.5. I initially had Google services and applications installed out of the box, including the Play Store, Youtube and others. As I said, I have a Chinese version of the tablet. But the user interface has received a large number of different languages. There are also all the necessary applications for the full use of the tablet.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

In addition, the user interface of ZUI 12.5 has received a PC mode. During its activation, you will be able to use the tablet like a full-fledged laptop. This mode will be useful for those people who have purchased an additional keyboard with a touchpad. In this mode, the user interface is very similar to the Windows OS.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

Since there is a launcher, a desktop and many other similar features here. In general, the entire operating system has always worked stably and without any particular complaints, all processes took place at lightning speed and quickly.

Camera and sample photos

The back of the tablet received dual camera modules, where the main one received a 13-megapixel resolution. But the second camera module was created for ultra-wide shots with a capture angle of 120 degrees and had a 5-megapixel resolution. Examples of photos you can see below in the album.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

On my own I want to note that the photos were of pretty good quality in good lighting, but in the dark, the quality of the photos dropped significantly.

At the same time, dual camera modules were located on the front of the case – with a resolution of 8 megapixels. Only one module was created for ordinary photographs, and the second is used for bokeh mode or a biometric sensor for recognizing the owner’s face.

NIUBILITY N1 Review: Affordable Electric Scooter for $270

I was a little disappointed that the main and selfie camera was only capable of shooting video at 1080p and 30fps. Other than that, there was no image stabilization whatsoever.

Battery and run time

The new Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet uses a battery with the same capacity as the previous version of the device at 8600 mAh.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

During my testing, the tablet lasted about 9 hours in the benchmark test. This is a very good result, considering that I had a screen activated at 90 Hz. If you reduce the refresh rate to 60 Hz on the screen, then the battery life will increase to 11-12 hours.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

But the device charges just as quickly. For example, a full charge from 5 to 100% took me about 3 hours through a 20W power adapter.

Conclusion, reviews, pros and cons

The updated version of the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 tablet has received a number of significant improvements compared to the previous generation of the device.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

For example, from the positive aspects I can single out – it is a high-quality assembly and materials used. Despite the fact that the body itself has become even thinner, the dimensions and weight have remained intact.

The big changes of the next generation have affected the performance of the tablet. The device now uses the flagship Snapdragon 870 chipset, which shows much better results in various benchmark tests. In addition, the read and write speed of the built-in memory has improved.

Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 Review: Flagship Tablet with Snapdragon 870

I also liked the PC mode in the user interface, which can help transform a tablet into a compact laptop. If you additionally purchase an embedded magnetic keyboard with touchpad.

The appearance of the 90 Hz screen showed only positive emotions. At the same time, the device received the same OLED screen with a native resolution of 2.5K. I also liked the battery life and the availability of fast charging.

On the negative side, I can mention the lack of a SIM card slot, 3.5 mm audio jack, and poor camera performance.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

It is clear that when buying a flagship tablet, the cost per device will not be $300 or even $400. Therefore, it is not surprising that the manufacturer asks for the Lenovo P11 Pro 2021 model – $516.55.

Considering its technical component and main features, I can definitely say that the new tablet model is worth your attention.

$516.55
$549.00
Aliexpress.com

Alternative and competitors

$394.50
$605.49
Amazon.com
$518.35
$599.99
Amazon.com
$599.00
$649.99
Amazon.com
error: Content is protected !!