Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

The laptop market with a price below $500 is the only one that manages to increase sales in a PC market in decline. The Chuwi CoreBook is an option to consider.

When we talk about “2-in-1” laptops, hybrids, combos, convertibles or similar adjectives, we are referring to a relatively new range in the notebook market. With one foot in the field of touch tablets and the other in traditional notebooks.

Elements such as the Microsoft Surface seek to dominate the high range with prices starting at around $1000, they are far from the average price for which a laptop is purchased, close to $500. To fill this gap with more casual laptops, brands such as Lenovo, Dell, HP, Asus and other manufacturers have offers with earlier generation processors.

Chuwi CoreBook 2 in 1 Tablet PC with Keyboard

Price: $529.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

13.3 inch with 1920 x 1080 Pixels, RAM: 8GB, ROM: 128GB, Battery: 34.2Wh, Windows 10, Intel Core m3-7Y30 Dual Core 2.4GHz

Chuwi CoreBook 2 in 1 Tablet PC with Keyboard

Price: $529.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

13.3 inch with 1920 x 1080 Pixels, RAM: 8GB, ROM: 128GB, Battery: 34.2Wh, Windows 10, Intel Core m3-7Y30 Dual Core 2.4GHz

As we have commented on other occasions, the differences between a new computer and one of a few years ago are not so great due to a general stagnation of the components. We see that there is a gap of users looking for mid-range processors, high-resolution touchscreen.

It is here where brands like Chuwi, a company founded a little over a decade ago in Shenzhen, look for their clients with models like the Chuwi CoreBook that we review below. With a weight of just over a kilogram, we find a computer convertible tablet that does what we expect for its tight price.

Chuwi CoreBook: Specifications

Chuwi CoreBook: Specs
Display: 13.3 inches with 1920 x 1080 pixels
CPU: Intel Core m3-7Y30 Dual Core 2.4GHz
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 615
RAM: 8GB
Internal memory: 128GB
Memory extension: up to 128GB
Cameras: 5.0MP main and 2.0MP front camera
Connectivity: Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band, Bluetooth 4.0
Battery: 34.2Wh (12V/2A)
OS: Windows 10
Connections: TF card slot, Type-C, Micro USB port, DC Jack and 3.5mm Audio Jack
Dimensions: 315.0 x 211.0 x 8.0 mm
Price: $540

Chuwi CoreBook: Design and Appearance

The exterior finish is very similar to previous Chuwi models, having an aluminum housing, composed of a piece only in silver, and whose front frame that surrounds the screen is black, fixed to it from four T4 screws TORX.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

In what we have found an important decline has been in the connections and audio outputs presented by the tablet Chuwi CoreBook in the test. It has USB 3.0 port something that is very useful and that in a team like this is surely missing, although this would be solved by adding the additional keyboard that we will talk about later).

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

What connections do we have then? Well instead we find USB connection Type C, but for some strange reason does not work to charge the device at fast speed but it is something like the secondary load the cable that comes with the box does not help us to load the tablet and it does not come with an adapter for type C USB cable in the box. A pretty big failure when it comes to the distribution of this tablet.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

Regarding the audio output, we see that it has 2 speakers, each of them in each corner of the structure, but with a flat sound and a poor volume, so do not expect much, since for films it complies but for music we would recommend using a speaker via jack or Bluetooth.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

This means that, for the price you have, you have a good manufacturing finish, although of course, the materials are far from a Samsung tablet or an iPad.

Chuwi CoreBook: Screen

When we look for a tablet Chuwi CoreBook in the analisis, one of the things we must fix first is on the screen, both the size of it and the quality it has.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

Despite what the battery may suffer, I think Chuwi is usually right in this aspect and that is why the Chuwi brand has always opted for quality in this section and in all its versions and models is a detail that has always been noticed for good.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

For that reason, and in the same way, as we are already accustomed, comes the Chuwi CoreBook model, which continues with practically the same quality as its previous model, only to increase the size, even more, to offer us more work surface and viewing.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

In this way, we are going to enter into this tablet to see what it can offer us and above all which are its more and less strong points.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

As for the quality of the screen, which we have started mentioning, we see that again they have bet on the ratio 3: 2.

Also, it had its previous model, only that increase the size of it to 13.3 inches and a resolution of 1920 x 1080 pixels.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

That is, with this we find a maximum brightness of 350 nits, a very good screen to be a tablet of this price, both in panel quality and in resolution.

Chuwi CoreBook: Hardware and Performance

Getting into the internal specifications we find that it has a Dual-Core Intel Core M3 7Y30 processor that is capable of running at 2.4Ghz.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

So, it getting a response speed more than good, also adding to that the 8GB of RAM that works in dual channel and an internal capacity of 128GB.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

That is, both for navigation and for the execution of applications the speed of response and its handling is quite fluid when it comes to using it, although we have to know the limitations that we have and that the processor is not an i5, with that if we have much open fluency will decline.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

That is to say, with regard to the speed of response and action, sometimes a small delay of action is noticed when executing for example when loading the applications at the beginning of Windows, which is probably due to the effort the GPU is working to maintain the resolution of 1920 x 1080 pixels.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

With this, they are always dedicating 600Mb permanent RAM to the work of the GPU, somewhat less than other models with Intel Core M3, and that shows something in the games.

Anyway, the image rate is good, so there is nothing to worry about in this aspect and just be aware of the limitations of the tablet.

Chuwi CoreBook: Software

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

Speaking of the operating system on this occasion have opted for Windows 10, as we are seeing for a while this part in many Chinese tablets that are leaving aside the use of Android.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

Thus, we lose the dual support that allowed us to vary between one operating system of Chuwi CoreBook and another, running only Windows 10 from its inception, something that does not have to be a nuisance, but it is always good to allow us the option of which system we want to use our tablet.

Chuwi CoreBook: Peripherals

As for the accessories of this Chuwi CoreBook in the review, a quite essential one is the CoreBook keyboard, totally manufactured in metal, with a lot more quality than the keyboard of the previous model.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

It has a hinge mechanism to close it when not in use, all buttons for direct access to the options of using the tablet and includes those USB ports that we mentioned before that the tablet itself lacked.

We must also mention the Chuwi HiPen that comes included, making drawings and sketches, being made of hard plastic, with two buttons included in it for configurable options and a rubber tip with good precision on the screen.

So, it made your action on the screen it is similar to the use of a Wacom tablet (saving distances), being quite accurate.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

It is necessary to mention that the pencil can be used supporting the palm of the hand on the screen, that is to say, that it acts like the aforementioned Wacom or the iPad Pro, in both cases saving distances.

Also it very good results, for example, to draw in Paint or Illustrator as well as taking notes by hand in OneNote.

Chuwi CoreBook: Battery

As for the battery has surprised us, is quite decent for its price, since it contains the battery of 34.2Wh.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

Yes, it is true that we have noticed a drop in the previous model because with all the settings such as the brightness of the screen to the maximum the battery is hovering around the duration of about 6 hours.

This must be taken with tweezers, since the use that we will normally give it is with a lower brightness so that it does not tire our eyes, so with brightness and in normal use of simple tasks we arrive well at 8 hours.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

By the way, it takes about 5 hours to complete a full load, starting from being totally discharged.

Chuwi CoreBook: Conclusions and Reviews

In short, we talk about a well-built tablet of Chuwi CoreBook in our review, with enough power to be used on a day-to-day basis for multimedia, surfing the Internet and other daily tasks that we all do.

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018

I would like to note about a quality screen and a good bundle that includes a keyboard and a stylus. So you can use it as a full-fledged laptop or tablet. So, it is an excellent purchase for less than 400 euros.

Chuwi CoreBook: Price and Where to buy?

You can already buy tablet Chuwi CoreBook at a good and cheap price for only $529.99, as now there is a flash sales price. It remains not so long, so who wants to buy a good tablet, then this is a good choice.

Chuwi CoreBook 2 in 1 Tablet PC with Keyboard

Price: $529.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

13.3 inch with 1920 x 1080 Pixels, RAM: 8GB, ROM: 128GB, Battery: 34.2Wh, Windows 10, Intel Core m3-7Y30 Dual Core 2.4GHz

Chuwi CoreBook 2 in 1 Tablet PC with Keyboard

Price: $529.99 use coupon: GBmidyear2018 10% OFF from 2018/6/18 to 2018/6/30

13.3 inch with 1920 x 1080 Pixels, RAM: 8GB, ROM: 128GB, Battery: 34.2Wh, Windows 10, Intel Core m3-7Y30 Dual Core 2.4GHz

Chuwi CoreBook Review: Next Generation of 2 in 1 Tablet PC 2018 was last modified: June 15th, 2018 by Boby Sanburn