Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

Blackview has introduced a new model of a rugged smartphone to the mobile market, called Blackview BL5000.

I can attribute this smartphone to the mid-budget class, since its price tag was in the range of up to $300. You might think this is a pretty high price tag for a rugged smartphone. But in fact, the specs of the device are definitely worth their attention.

In addition, Blackview has a lot of experience, as the manufacturer does not release the new BL5000 device as the first in its class. Therefore, there is experience behind him, as well as the desire to work.

$279.99
$499.99
Aliexpress.com

In this article, I will share with you not only how well or poorly the smartphone was assembled, but also conduct a series of performance tests. For example, I’ll run a couple of benchmark tests and even play games. I will also check the camera and battery, and show the results of the work done in this review.

As for the main features, the device received a 6.36-inch IPS screen with Full HD resolution. The rugged smartphone is also famous for its interesting design and small body thickness. In addition, a fairly efficient Dimensity 700 chipset was built on board the smartphone and there is a large amount of memory for 8 and 128 GB.

I was also surprised to find 33W fast charging, but the built-in battery was only 4980mAh. Naturally, the device runs the latest version of Android 11 and has an NFC function to pay for your payments contactlessly.

Thus, the device has many interesting features and stylish design. But how a rugged smartphone will perform in real life, you will find out in this full and in-depth review.

Blackview BL5000: Specifications

Blackview BL5000:Specs
Display:6.36 inches IPS with 1080 x 2300 pixels, 60Hz
CPU:MediaTek Dimensity 700 Octa Core 2.2 GHz
GPU:ARM G57 MC2
RAM:8GB
Internal memory:128GB
Memory extension:No
Cameras:12MP + 16MP main camera and 16MP front camera
Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, dual-band,3G, 4G, 5G Bluetooth 5.2, NFC and GPS
Battery:4980mAh (33W)
OS:Android 11
Connections:Type-C
Weight:273 grams
Dimensions:164 x 80.4 x 12.8 mm
Price:$279

Unboxing and packaging

The new rugged device from Blackview comes in a rather familiar white square package. On the outside of which, there is only the brand name. But on the back of the package, there was a sticker with the main technical characteristics.

Inside the package, I am happily greeted directly by the smartphone itself. At the same time, the device had a protective transport film and the main features of the model were displayed on it. There was another protective film under this film and I did not plan to remove it yet.

Further, the package of the rugged smartphone included a 33 W power adapter, a Type-C to Type-C cable, instructions for use and a needle for a SIM tray. That is, the delivery set was very typical, as in most other rugged devices in this price range.

Design, build quality and materials

As I said, the appearance of the rugged Blackview BL5000 smartphone is practically not similar to its class. Since the design, it reminds me more of a gaming smartphone. This is especially highlighted by green stripes on the body of the device.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

Yes, I had a version with green stripes, but a device with orange and just black stripes is also available to choose from. I chose it with green stripes, as this option seemed to me the brightest.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

If you look at the back of the Blackview BL5000 smartphone, then I noticed a certain similarity to devices from BlackShark, right? There are three camera modules in a triangular island and an LED flash.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

Also, the camera module itself received a mirror image at the bottom of the back side, on which the company’s brand and 5G logo were indicated. The NFC logo was also installed in the central part.

Of the minuses, I can single out the presence of glossy plastic on the back of the smartphone. It is not the best solution on the part of the manufacturer. Since traces from use, scratches and other troubles will remain on its surface. But it’s good that not the entire surface was made of glossy plastic.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

Basically, the back of the device has used a durable and sturdy rubber material in its design. Also, the side edges and corners were protected with the same material. Therefore, if it falls, the device will definitely survive. Although the marks from the fall and scratches will not disappear anywhere.

As for the build quality, I did not find any special complaints during my testing. All elements were well assembled among themselves and I did not reveal any extraneous noise or squeak. I also conducted light shock resistance tests, immersed the device underwater and after these tests, the smartphone worked without any particular complaints.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

Now let’s go through the main functions and control buttons. For example, on the right side of the smartphone, there is a power button with a built-in fingerprint scanner. A little higher there was a volume rocker. I had no particular complaints about the fingerprint scanner. In my case, the finger was recognized accurately and, most importantly, very quickly.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

If you look at the left end of the device, there is a slot for dual nano SIM cards. At the same time, the slot itself was protected by a plug from water and dust. There was nothing on the top of the smartphone, but on the bottom, there was a Type-C port with a speaker and microphone. Just like the SIM card slot, the Type-C connection was protected by a plug.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

Now let’s talk about the dimensions and weight of the new generation of the rugged smartphone from Blackview. For example, the dimensions of the device were 164 x 80.4 x 12.8 mm, and the weight of the smartphone was about 273 grams. This is a very thin smartphone, as for the rugged class. Therefore, the device was quite comfortable to operate. Okay, I figured out the appearance, now let’s start a conversation with the quality of the screen and its features.

Screen and image quality

On the front of the rugged Blackview BL5000 smartphone, a fairly large 6.36-inch screen size was installed, for its class. It uses the most typical IPS matrix with a 60 Hz refresh rate. I had no particular complaints about the image quality. Since the colors were bright and saturated, and the viewing angles were wide.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

If we talk about the screen resolution, then it was Full HD or 1080 x 2300 pixels and had a 19: 9 aspect ratio. In this case, the screen itself was protected by a protective glass Corning Gorilla Glass 5.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

The bezels around the screen are not the smallest, especially at the top and bottom. But here you could see a round cutout for the selfie camera in the upper left corner of the screen.

In terms of the brightness level, it seemed that everything was not so bad, but I would add a little level to the maximum brightness. Since outdoor use the device was a bit problematic for my eyes.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

There is a typical list of features in the settings. For example, these are brightness control, automatic screen fading, font size, dark mode, and much more. Ok, now let’s talk about performance and run some tests.

Performance, benchmark tests, games and OS

But the Dimensity 700 processor is responsible for the performance, which I have not seen for the first time. In addition, this is not even the first processor in the class of rugged smartphones that I have been able to test. Since I have previously tested this processor on devices such as Oukitel WP13, Realme Narzo 30 5G, Poco M3 Pro and many others.

That is, I cannot name the new Dimensity 700 processor, it is currently very popular. It is based on eight cores, where six of them are Cortex A55 with a clock speed of 2.0 GHz, and the other two are Cortex A75 with a frequency of 2.2 GHz. In the AnTuTu test, the device scored about 363 thousand points. This is a very good result for its class. Below I will leave an album with other benchmark test results.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

As for the gaming abilities, during my testing, the Blackview BL5000 smartphone also showed itself from a decent side. At the same time, the ARM G57 MC2 accelerator with a frequency of 950 MHz is responsible for the graphics. Therefore, I could easily run even complex games like PUBG Mobile and even Genshin Impact. I did not reveal any particular complaints during the game processes.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

In terms of the amount of memory, everything is very good here. Since on board the smartphone was installed 8 GB of RAM and 128 GB of internal memory in UFS 2.2 format. The read speed of the installed memory was almost 1000 MBps, and the write speed was about 550 MBps. But there was no separate or combined memory card slot on the rugged smartphone.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

From wireless connections, the rugged smartphone from Blackview stands out with a dual-band Wi-Fi module and Bluetooth 5.2 version. In addition, the device also had modules such as GPS and NFC. It is also worth noting about the presence of a 5G network. All of the above modules worked flawlessly.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

I also want to talk about the operating system. The rugged model of the Blackview BL5000 smartphone uses Android 11 version. The user interface looks very playful as the icons and wallpapers were more suited to a gaming smartphone. But do not forget that this is not a fully gaming smartphone, but still a rugged device.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

But during my testing, I did not find any special complaints about the operation of the operating system on the new smartphone model from Blackview. In addition, all processes went smoothly and without any major delays. In addition, Google services and applications have already been installed here.

Camera and sample photos

The main camera module of the rugged Blackview BL5000 smartphone has received a 12-megapixel resolution from Sony IMX362. At the same time, the second camera module has an even higher resolution of 16 megapixels and this sensor was created for ultra-wide shots.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

Also, you may have noticed that there is also a third camera module on the back, but in fact it is a dummy. That is, the device uses only dual camera modules on the back of the device.

At the same time, the selfie camera received a good resolution of 16 megapixels, as well as an ultra-wide sensor. I had no particular complaints about the quality of the photos. Below you can see an album with examples of photos taken with BL5000.

The camera app has modes such as night, photo, video, beauty, portrait and even portrait with black and white background. But the video shoots with a maximum resolution of 2K on the main camera module and 1080p on the front camera.

Battery and run time

But the capacity of the built-in battery on the rugged Blackview BL5000 device did not really impress me. Since it uses a 4980 mAh battery.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

In practice, my smartphone model was able to last a little over 1 day with active use. That is, if you use the device without much fanaticism, then it can last up to 2 days.

But special attention is paid to the fast charging function with 33W of power. Therefore, it took me about 1 hour and 18 minutes to fully charge the smartphone from 0 to 100%.

Conclusion, reviews, pros and cons

The Blackview company has made its new rugged device, which in appearance resembles a gaming device. Depending on the color, the device can be suitable for both young and adult generations.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

On the positive side, I can single out a good build quality and materials used. Also, the smartphone has full protection against water and drops under the IP68/IP69K standard.

The smartphone also has a corresponding performance. That is, a good and modern Dimensity 700 processor is used on board the device. It showed itself on the positive side not only during games, but also in various benchmark tests.

Blackview BL5000 Review: Gaming Rugged Smartphone 2021

In addition, I liked the sample photos taken with a 16-megapixel ultra-wide sensor. Also, from the advantages of the smartphone, fast charging and support for the NFC module are available.

The disadvantages are that the built-in battery capacity is not very large and I also did not particularly like some of the glossy elements in the design. In addition, the device does not have a memory card slot and headphone jack.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

I ordered the smartphone at an auction price and it only cost me $259, but now the price tag for the Blackview BL5000 is $299.99. But the manufacturer also offers a coupon, and the final price will be $279.99.

Considering its features, performance, and other aspects, I can recommend this model for purchase. But I believe that the price is even a little overpriced at $279. Therefore, for a bargain purchase, it is better to wait for the next sale.

$279.99
$499.99
Aliexpress.com

Competitor and Alternative

$149.99
$249.99
Aliexpress.com
$186.99
$339.98
Aliexpress.com
$241.24
$502.48
Aliexpress.com
error: Content is protected !!