Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

The smart wearable device maker Amazfit has launched the second generation of rugged smartwatches called Amazfit T-Rex Pro. Yes, most likely it will not be entirely correct to call this model the second generation, since this watch is an updated version of the T-Rex model.

I think many people understand for what purpose this watch was created. If not, then I will voice it, the improved generation, as well as the first generation, was made for people who go in for active sports. For example, it could be hunting or fishing. I can also note the harsh operating conditions, for example, a construction site, factories, and the like.

If we talk about the cost, then the updated version of the rugged smartwatch Amazfit T-Rex Pro will cost you $179.99 starting from March 29 of this year. Let me remind you that the first generation of this T-rex line is priced at $110. That is, the price tag has grown quite significantly, but let’s see what reasons contributed to this growth.

$179.99
$299.99
Aliexpress.com

The first and significant improvement came in the level of protection from water, falls, and other annoyances. The new version of the Amazfit T-Rex Pro watch has received the 10ATM standard and the 15th level military standard certificate. At the same time, I want to note that the appearance and the screen remained untouched. But the functionality has become much more, for example, a GPS module, barometer, thermometer, and SpO2 sensors appeared.

Thus, I propose to start my in-depth and detailed review to find out what the new generation of rugged smartwatches is capable of.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro: Specifications

Amazfit T-Rex Pro:Specs
Screen:1.3 inch AMOLED screen with 360 by 360 pixels
Sensor:Heart-rate monitor, Proximity sensor, Accelerometer
IP standart:10ATM waterproof
Connection:Bluetooth 5.0
Battery:390mAh
Standby time:up to 18 days
Size:47.7 x 47.7 x 13.5 mm
Weight:59.4g
Price:$179

Unboxing and packaging

Like the first generation of rugged smartwatches from the Amazfit brand, the new generation of T-Rex Pro comes in a similar box. This is a small white square package, where on the front, you can find a picture of the device and the name of the company and model.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

The packaging itself looks pretty solid and I have no complaints about its quality. Although it would be strange to see a budget package with such a price tag. Inside the box, a smartwatch greeted me happily. Also in separate boxes, one could find a charging two-pin magnetic cable and instructions in many languages.

In general, the equipment is typical and does not stand out in anything compared to other models from Amazfit. But now let’s check out what are the main changes that the updated version of the smartwatch has received in appearance.

Design, quality of materials, and workmanship

Remember, I mentioned at the beginning of the review that the appearance of the new generation of rugged watches Amazfit T-Rex Pro practically does not differ from its predecessor. Indeed, it will be very difficult to understand which generation you have on your wrist.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

But according to the materials, the updated version of the watch received a small upgrade. On the front, they now use brushed metal, and not plastic, as was the case on the Amazfit T-Rex. But the rest of the body is made of matte plastic, which is quite sturdy and durable.

As for the build quality, I have no complaints, the whole case is assembled without a single complaint. I did not find any extraneous sounds and squeaks. In addition, the mechanical buttons have a good pressing stroke. Since this is a rugged version of the watch, the watch is not afraid of water or falling.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

It is worth noting about an improved version of the 10 ATM security standard. Let me remind you that the first generation had only 5 ATMs. This means that you can not be afraid to dive to a depth of 100 meters or 10 atmospheres of pressure.

The heart rate sensor on the back of the device of the new T-Rex Pro smartwatch has also changed. But the charging power adapter and charging method remain the same. In addition, I can also highlight the appearance of a hole for determining the air pressure.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

The side ends have two buttons on each side. It’s up, down, select, and back. As I said, pressing the buttons is very smooth and the reverse is not even bad at all.

The front side of the rugged watch received the same screen size as on the first generation. It uses a 1.3-inch AMOLED screen with a resolution of 360 x 360 pixels. I did not find any problems with readability even in direct sunlight. Any function is displayed perfectly since the transmitted AMOLED colors of the screen are very rich and bright.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

In addition, you will be able to use the useful Always-On Display feature. In general, the quality of the screen I really liked. Apparently, it’s not for nothing that the manufacturer asks for a rather high cost for a new generation of smartwatches.

The strap is made of a highly elastic silicone that fits well on the wrist. At the same time, the strap itself is removable and it is easy to replace it with any other option. But it is worth noting that the strap attachment is not universal, so I can recommend in advance buying additional straps for your new version of the protected smartwatch. The strap measures 122 mm on one side and 78 mm on the other.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

I also wanted to talk about the size and weight of the wearable watch. The new model of the rugged watch received dimensions of 47.7 x 47.7 x 13.5 mm, and the weight was about 59.4 grams. The T-Rex Pro watch fit well on my thin wrist and I had no problems wearing it. Okay, now let’s take a look at the main features and functions of the new rugged watch model from the Amazfit brand.

Functions, features, and application

The first thing you will encounter during the first start-up in the settings and connection of the rugged smartwatch to the mobile application. A QR code will appear on the main screen to install the application, or you can install it initially via Play or App Stores. I think it’s no secret to anyone what the Zepp application is called.

After a simple synchronization, you will have full access to all the functions and features of the new smartwatch from Amazfit.

The home screen has many different watch faces. In addition, they can be customized to suit your taste and needs. Namely, the first three watch faces from the list. In total, I counted up to 10 watch faces, but you can also install a large number of watch faces through the mobile application.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

As for the control function, everything is simple here and I did not find any difficulties. For example, when you swipe down, you will be taken to the quick settings menu. In this section, you can see icons such as flashlight, screen brightness level, vibration mode, do not disturb mode, power-saving mode, theater mode, and settings.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

When you swipe up, you will be able to see a large number of widgets. These are activities, heart rate, PAI, sleep, weather, and others. But when you swipe to the left, you can see the menu of the latest notifications. Meanwhile, on the opposite side, the main menu is located with all the features and functions.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

Okay, let’s talk about the settings first and what they are. Here you can find the different styles of watch faces that I mentioned above. There are also do not disturb mode settings. Quick launch of functions via the Select button, for example, you can select the heart rate, weather, and other features. Initially, there is a quick start of the training functions. It is also possible to find screen settings, vibration, GPS settings, auto training, and the latest system settings.

Now let’s go through all the features in the main application menu. And so in order – this is PAI, pulse, blood oxygen level, workouts, workout records, workout status, stress, activity goal, weather, alarm clock, compass, barometer, stopwatch, timer, events, music player, phone search, notifications, and settings.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

Ok, let’s take a closer look at each feature from the main menu. I want to start with training, there are a lot of them and you can find any style of training for your taste. I was even a little surprised by training such as belly dancing and ballet. Real brutal men only need, like these types of training.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

Also, during training, the work of the GPS module is activated and I was completely satisfied with its result. Do not forget that the new version of Amazfit T-Rex Pro has 4 different location sensors – GLONASS, GPS, GALILEO, BAIDU. In addition, during training, you can see the functionality of the built-in thermometer. But you can’t use it separately and it was rather strange.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

Of the minuses, I can note that you cannot control music and train at the same time. Although, their older models, such as Amazfit GTS 2 and others, already have this feature. I can also highlight the lack of an NFC module for contactless payment.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

As for measuring the pulse, it showed itself on the positive side. The results of the value were realistic, but I did not have the time and opportunity to find out to compare the indicators with a medical device.

The Zepp app itself has received a wide list of features, without which it will be difficult for a modern user to use smartwatches from the Amazfit brand. For example, here you can analyze your physical activity indicators, configure applications from which you can receive notifications, and much more. Of course, there are settings for additional watch faces and you can also set your own photo on the main screen of the smartwatch.

Battery and run time

The battery capacity in the updated version of the Amazfit T-Rex Pro rugged smartwatch is 390 mAh. During my active use, the watch was discharged in 5 days. Although the manufacturer says that the device is capable of working for 18 days.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

I think that it will be very difficult to achieve such a result, but with a moderate load, the watch can probably work for 1.5 weeks. This is not a bad result for a large number of functions and features. Also, I think 40 hours of work with the GPS module is pretty realistic.

In this case, the time for a full charge will be only 1.5 hours after two-pin magnetic charging.

Conclusion, reviews, pros, and cons

I believe that the new generation of the Amazfit T-Rex Pro rugged watch is the perfect version in terms of functionality, which was lacking in the first generation. Yes, the appearance may have remained the same. But I love this brutal and improved protection appearance.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

On the positive side, I can highlight the improved 10ATM protection. In addition, the build quality and materials used remained at a high level. I also liked the wide functionality of the settings and features. The work of all functions left only good emotions in my memory. All functions worked well and without any major problems.

Amazfit T-Rex Pro Review: Updated Generation Rugged Smartwatch 2021

The disadvantages I can attribute are, of course, the lack of an NFC sensor and also the fact that you cannot quite a workout or control music during workouts. I would also like to see a Bluetooth calling function here.

Price and where to buy cheaper?

Currently, the price tag for a new model of rugged smartwatches is quite high. You will be able to purchase the Amazfit T-Rex Pro for $179.99 three days later when Aliexpress celebrates its 11th birthday.

Therefore, I can easily recommend this smartwatch model, and whether you buy it or not, you need to see what your available budget is.

$179.99
$299.99
Aliexpress.com

Alternative and competitor

$109.99
$199.99
Aliexpress.com
error: Content is protected !!